Nursing Research Resources: Home
A guide for researching Nursing Information
Library Quick Links
- Ask a LibrarianYou can chat with a librarian during regular business hours, set up an appointment with a librarian or email a question.
- Bookings InstructionsAn overview of the services available at the library as well as the instructions and protocols for reserving them.
- Book Now!A direct link to the Library's services and spaces schedule
- HoursGet the latest information on the library's hours.
More Help
- Duke University's "Evidence-Based Practice" TutorialAn online tutorial going over the basics of EBP techniques. Includes the major aspects of the EBP process such as search strategies and analyzing evidence.
The American Journal of Nursing has a step-by-step series on Evidence Based Practice. Here are some of the particularly relevant/challenging steps explained:
What is Evidence Based Practice?
EBP Research Steps
According to the American Nurses Association, there are 7 steps in Evidence-Based Practice Research:
- Cultivate a Spirit of Inquiry.
- Ask a burning clinical question.
- Collect the most relevant and best evidence.
- Critically appraise the evidence.
- Integrate, or apply, the evidence with clinical expertise, patient preferences, and values in making a practice decision or change.
- Evaluate the practice decision or change.
- Disseminate EBP results.
Annotated Bibliography
- What is an Annotated Bibliography?From Cornell University, this quick guide offers defining characteristics of an annotated bib. as well as its difference with an abstract.
- Writing an Annotated BibliographySkidmore College Guide includes sections on elements, structure and examples of annotated bibliographies.
- Sample Annotated BibliographyA sample of an annotated bibliography entries from the Purdue OWL.
Research as a Process
|
Research is an iterative process. It can take more time and effort than simply plugging a few keywords into Google and taking the top three hits.
|