Nursing Research Resources: Finding Evidence
Are you research ready?
Click on the link above to see if you have the right access and technology requirements for the library's databases.
Help with Searching
- CINAHL/MEDLINE support from EBSCOThe FAQ and help section of EBSCO's support center concerning CINAHL and MEDLINE. Contains documentation as well as links to video tutorials and handouts.
- Advanced MESH Searching with MEDLINE in EBSCOSearch techniques to find information in MEDLINE using the MEdical Subject Headings.
- Searching PubMed for NursesA series of videos designed to help you find information in PubMed specifically for nurses and using PICO.
- MESH information from the NLM/NIHA series of search tools and help for using Medical Subject Headings
- All About MESHThe landing page for MESH information of the National Library of Medicine.
- Eigen FactorA Google Chrome Plugin for Pubmed which ranks journal titles according to criteria of influence so you can tell if you are reading a journal article of importance.
- Columbia University Guide to Quality Research6 tips for determining if an article is high quality research.
Searching CINAHL with PICO
The following series of videos were produced by the University of British Columbia. They offer a offers a step by step approach to complex searching in CINAHL.
Using PICO to Develop Keywords
Searching CINAHL using MeSH
PUBMED and MEDLINE
The following databases are free to access and search. However NOT EVERY ARTICLE IS AVAILABLE AS FULL TEXT. You may need to order the articles via intrasystem loan which can take up to 10 days to receive the article. For more help, please contact a librarian.
This database includes the articles from MEDLINE in addition to in-process citations, open journal articles, and some additional journal titles. MEDLINE is the largest subsection of PubMed. PUBMED Central is an additional product serving as an archive for free journal articles.
MEDLINE is the official journal citation database of the National Library of Medicine with references going back to 1946. Articles are submitted to a technical board who approves their publication in the database according to scientific and medical factors.
For more information, consult the NLM page describing the products.
Best Bet Databases
CINAHL with Full Text is a nursing database produced by EBSCO with access to thousands of articles, case studies, and academic journals. You can search using the MeSH terms. Much of the information is "Unfiltered" but there are some systemic reviews as well as professional guidelines.
See Below for Video help for Searching CINAHL (Academic) from EBSCO on Vimeo.
Published by Elsevier, one of the world's leading scientific publishers - Science Direct offers access to nearly 2,200 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and over 25,000 e-books.The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
A general nursing database which includes full text of about 300 journals. This is the least comprehensive of our databases, but offers a good starting point to find information/evidence from the bottom of the evidence pyramid.
Finding articles when you have the citation.
The library has a tool that searches all the library's databases for journal and magazine titles. If you have an article citation or simply want to see if the library subscribes to a particular title, enter it into the tool below and expand on your results to go the particular databases that has the title:
Other Free Professional Databases
- "Turning Research into Practice" -- The TRIP database is a free clinical search engine designed to help find quality research evidence for students and practitioners.
PLOSThe Public Library of Science is a collection of Open Access Peer reviewed journals in the sciences. They offer authors/researcher a free alternative to publishing research in a well respected forum.
- Open access to many continuing education and clinical articles from over 50 nursing journals including the American Journal of Nursing.
- A multi-lingual database with a curated collection of evidence based research and articles. Designed for the professional to help in the decision making process for care.
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar is linked to the UHMC Library. If Google Scholar finds an article which is available through the Library's subscription databases, you will be able to have access to it. To do this you must do one of two things:
- Use the Google Scholar link from the Library's A-Z List of Databases.
- Manually link your Google Scholar account to the UHMC library. Click on the three horizontal bars in the upper left, click Settings > Library Links: enter "University of Hawaii Maui College" in the area provided.
Articles indicated with "Get Article" are available through UHMC Library.
For more information, consult the UHMC Library Guide to Google Scholar.