PSY 353: Find Background Information
library research resources
Getting Started
How do you know which discipline to choose? Here's one strategy: try searching for your topic (or some smaller parts of it) in encyclopedias, and take note of which discipline has the most coverage of that topic. Use Credo Reference to search a wide rage of encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Mainly encyclopedias. A large digital collection of reference materials including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, maps and images.
Sample titles from Credo Reference:
Dictionary of Conflict Resolution by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780787946791Publication Date: 1999-09-10The original dictionary for the field of conflict resolution. Defining 1,400 terms, this comprehensive resource will standardize the language of conflict resolution--improving dialogue and understanding among professionals and theorist and promoting uniformity and consistency in the language.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780123695031Publication Date: 2008-08-28The 2nd edition of Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict provides timely and useful information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life.
Opposing Viewpoints Databases
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window A collection of reports providing objective, in-depth analysis of today's hot topics. Updated weekly, this resource presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Objective, in-depth exploration into popular news and current events topics. Reports published weekly. Each report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue.
