PSY 353: Find Scholarly Articles
Multidisciplinary Databases
There are many ways to find scholarly articles through the library. Use Primo search, Databases A-Z, or select a database from the list below These databases recommended for research in each of the following disciplines:
- Psychology
- Education
- Political Science and International Relations
- Criminal Justice
- Business
BEST BESTS FOR MULTIDISCIPLINARY
- Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- JSTOR
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
-
Project Muse
Provides access to recent scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.
Subject-Specific Databases
Psychology
- Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 530 full-text journals. This database also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Education
The research literature in Education can be useful as well. The key database to search is called ERIC. Note that you may want to avoid using the term conflict resolution in your ERIC searches as you may miss great articles that use different terminology.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, has been providing access to education literature and resources since 1966. The largest education article collection, this database contains more than 1.3 million records including those from 600+ journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Unfortunately, indexing is several months behind other databases.
Business Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowEBSCO's Business Source Complete database that includes additional search and browse features for company and industry profiles and market research reports. Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports and company information.
- Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new windowA wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.
VIDEO: Purpose and Value of Evidence
