- Search Techniques
- Finding Materials
- Cite Your Sources
(opens new guide)
Why can't I find anything?
There are thousands of articles written every month on thousands of topics. The first step is starting in the right place. Do you need a newspaper article or a magazine article? What's the difference? Are they biased? Next, you will need to figure out keywords. Your preliminary research and the Internet can help you figure out good search terms.
What is Full-Text?
Full text means that you will be able to read/view the entire text of the article - not just an index entry or abstract.
When in doubt?
Ask A Librarian
Finding articles when you have the citation.
The library has a tool that searches all the library's databases for journal and magazine titles. If you have an article citation or simply want to see if the library subscribes to a particular title, enter it into the tool below and expand on your results to go the particular databases that has the title:
What is a database?
Thanks to the Library at RMIT, a Public University in Australia.
Databases at UHMC
Databases A - Z is an alphabetical listing of all library subscribed databases. You can filter the collection by subject (click on the business subject) or by type of database (articles, ebooks, reference shelf, images, etc.).
When to Use A-Z Databases
- when you want specialized information sources within a discipline or academic field (such as Business or Psychology)
- when you know the name of a library database you want to search (eg. Business Source Complete)
Academic Search Complete is the largest general Information journal database to which the Library subscribes. It is often a very good starting place.
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar is linked to the UHMC Library. From this freely accessible, scholarly web search engine, go to Settings > Library Links to sync your Google Scholar page to the full text articles available at your library. Articles indicated with "Get Article" are available through UHMC Library.
For more information, consult the UHMC Library Guide to Google Scholar.
Pro/Con Databases (paid)
The following databases offer in-depth, non-biased introductions to many of today's important issues. Additionally, these sources may assist you in discovering a topic:
- CQ ResearcherEach week, CQ tackles a topic in the news. Each issue contains a wealth of information including an overview of the topic, pro/con essays, and an excellent bibliography.
- Issues & ControversiesTackles current issues as well as classic controversial subjects (i.e. abortion or gun control) by looking at all sides.
If you are studying a local topic, be sure to consult the Researching Local Issues LibGuide.
- Pro/ConA non-partisan website dedicated to critical thinking and looking at all sides of an issue.
- Pew ResearchA fact/think tank that attempts to inform people of the issues. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions
- National Conference of State LegislatorsNCSL is a bi-partisan group working for the legislatures of the the states and commonwealths of the United States. They conducts policy research in a variety of areas ranging from agriculture and budget and tax issues and education to health care and immigration and transportation.
- RAND Research GroupRAND research analyzes critical issues of particular relevance to the public policy debate. They conduct surveys as well as original research.
- Last Updated: Nov 10, 2020 3:06 PM
- URL: https://maui.hawaii.libguides.com/eng316
- Print Page
Email: email@example.com | Phone: (808) 984-3233 | Text: (808) 518-4080