This is the "Home" page of the "Cite Your Sources!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cite Your Sources!   Tags: citations, research  

Last Updated: Feb 18, 2016 URL: http://maui.hawaii.libguides.com/cite Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Cite Your Sources!

Whenever you quote, paraphrase, summarize, or otherwise refer to the work of another, you are required to cite its source by way of a parenthetical citation as well as a complete reference in a bibliography. This ensures that you are not plagarizing, and it also helps your reader find the sources you used.

The two most commonly used citation styles at Maui College are MLA (Modern Language Association) and APA (American Psychological Association).

 

Citation Help in Databases

Many online databases (EBSCO, Credo, ebrary, etc.) contain tools that will generate a citation for you. Use this handout to learn how this feature works:

 

Visit The Learning Center

Need one on one assistance with your citation problems? The Learning Center provides students at all levels with academic support services to help them become successful, independent learners and reach their educational goals, and they offer personal tutoring sessions by appointment or walk in availability.

 

Citations 101

Why cite your sources?

  • We use citations to show readers that we have borrowed somebody else’s ideas or information. By giving credit to the author of your sources, you are avoiding plagiarism. Plagiarism (taking someone’s work and passing it off as your own) is oftentimes done unintentionally by forgetting to cite your sources.

What does “citing your sources” consist of?

  • There are two parts to every citation: your in-text citation and your works cited/reference/bibliography page. Anytime you quote or paraphrase a source in your paper, you must include an in-text citation consisting of the author’s name and the page number (format varies between APA and MLA). This refers your reader to the reference page at the end of your paper, where the full citation is found.  The reference page lists every source you used in your paper, and the full, correctly formatted citations will help readers to find your sources should they need to.

How can I get help citing my sources?

  • First, make sure you know which citation format your professor has instructed you to use. There are three easy ways to get citation help:
  1. Follow the links on this guide to the Purdue OWL – this resource has examples and guides to help you correctly format in-text citations and reference pages.
  2. Use the EasyBib online citation creator to create your reference page – don’t forget to read through and double check your citations for correct punctuation and capitalization (refer to the Purdue guide on formatting rules).
  3. Still stumped? Visit the Learning Center and make an appointment with a tutor – they are there to help you!
 

Recommended Style Guide Websites

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue has very helpful and informative guides for understanding citation formats. These are kept up to date as new editions of ALA and MLA formats are published, and are a reliable place for citation help:

 

EasyBib: Bibliography Maker & Productivity Tool

EasyBib is a web-based, interactive bibliography maker for commonly used citation styles, such as MLA, APA, ASA and CSE.

EasyBib is for UHMC students, faculty and staff. If accessing this system off-campus, you will be asked to login using your UH number and last name.

 

EasyBib Instructional Guide

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Profile Image
Ellen Peterson
Contact Info
Reference Desk: 984-3298
Office Phone: 984-3582
Send Email
 

Downloadable Handouts

Click the links below to download useful instructional flyers. Use the examples on the MLA an APA Cheatsheets to help you build proper citations for your bibliography. The instruction flyer for EasyBib will help you use this web-based bibliography maker. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip