HIST 152: Primary Sources
A guide to help students in History 152.
What is a primary source?
Online places to find Primary Sources
- Internet Modern History SourcebookA vast resource of collections of primary sources from around the world starting at the Reformation ending at the late 20th century.
- Avalon Project at Yale UniversityColelcts important artifacts with a specialization on law, politics, and history. Contains full text links to treaties, speeches, laws, hearings, accords, etc...
- Map CollectionsA collection of historical maps from the Library of Congress. See maps of the railroads, national parks, boundaries, and wartime.
- Perseus Digital LibraryA collection of primary documents throughout time. Although the speciality is the ancient world, they have an extensive collection of 19th century american documents.
- Digital Public Library of America: Primary Source SetsDifferent collections of primary sources. It is fairly easy to browse, but also is searchable by time period or topic.
- History MattersA searchable (and clickable) gateway to various archives of primary sources. This will tell you where to find primary sources.
- American Memory ProjectSeries of collections put together by the Library of Congress. Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- HathiTrustAn online collection of books and other items curated and collected by academic institutions around the world.