Skip to main content

HIST 152: Find Articles

A guide to help students in History 152.

Research Tip

Why can't I find anything?

There are thousands of articles written every month on thousands of topics.  The first step is starting in the right place. Do you need a newspaper article or a magazine article?  What's the difference?  Are they biased? Next, you will need to figure out keywords.  Your preliminary research and the Internet can help you figure out good search terms. 

What is Full-Text?

Full text means that you will be able to read/view the entire text of the article - not just an index entry or abstract.

When in doubt?

Ask A Librarian

Evaluating Sources


Currency

-- When was the information created?
-- Does your topic require updated information?

Relevance

-- Does the information relate to your paper/project?
-- Is it written at an appropriate level? (not too advanced or elementary)

Authority

-- Is the author qualified to write on this subject?
-- Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?

Accuracy

-- Where does the information come from?
-- Is the information supported by legitimate sources?

Purpose

-- Why was the site created (advertising, share knowledge, entertainment)?
-- Do the authors make their intentions clear?

Databases at UHMC

Databases A - Z is an alphabetical listing of all library subscribed databases including ALL OF THE EBSCO Databases.  You can filter the collection by subject type or by type of database (articles, ebooks, reference shelf, images, etc.).

When to Use A-Z Databases

  • when you want specialized information sources within a discipline or academic field or a specific "genre" of databases.
  • when you know the name of a library database you want to search
  • as a starting place to find more in-depth sources of information

 

Best Bet Databases for

History Oriented Research 

 JStor

JSTOR --  Database specializing in complete runs of articles in a variety of humanities.

 

Logo for History Reference Center

History Reference Center - A "one stop" database with articles from encyclopedias, journals, and over 57,000 primary source documents.

 

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is linked to the UHMC Library. If Google Scholar finds an article which is available through the Library's subscription databases, you will be able to have access to it.  To do this you must do one of two things:

  1. Use the Google Scholar link from the Library's A-Z List of Databases.
  2. Manually link your Google Scholar account to the UHMC library. Click on the three horizontal bars in the upper left, click Settings > Library Links: enter "University of Hawaii Maui College" in the area provided. 

 Articles indicated with "Get Article" are available through UHMC Library.

For more information, consult the UHMC Library Guide to Google Scholar.

 

What is a database?

Thanks to the Library at RMIT, a Public University in Australia.

Helpful Librarian

Jeffrey Marzluft's picture
Jeffrey Marzluft
Contact:
UH Maui College Library
310 W. Ka'ahumanu Ave.
Kahului, HI 96732
(808) 984-3577
Website