Researching Local Topics: Journal Articles
A guide for researchers examining issues in the islands.
Library's Version of Google Scholar
One of the best places to find scholarly articles about Hawai'i is the library's version of Google Scholar.
- Google Scholar is linked to the UHMC Library. If Google Scholar retrieves an article that is available through a Library-subscribed database, you will be able to have access to it. To do this you must do one of two things:
- Use the Google Scholar link from the Library's A-Z List of Databases.
- Manually link your Google Scholar account to the UHMC library. Click on the three horizontal bars in the upper left, click Settings > Library Links: enter "University of Hawaii Maui College" in the area provided.
- Articles indicated with "Get Article" are available through UHMC Library.
- Use the Google Scholar link from the Library's A-Z List of Databases.
- For more information, consult the UHMC Library Guide to Google Scholar.
Library Databases Containing Hawai'i Journals
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recent scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Saved citations are available from the top, right toolbar. The best citation export option is to email it to yourself. - Arts & Sciences I. JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Free Online Hawai'i Journals
- Journal of the Polynesian SocietySince 1892 the Polynesian Society has provided a major forum for discussion of a wide range of social, cultural, indigenous and historical topics related to the past and present lives and cultures of peoples of Pacific/Oceanic heritage, including those of the traditional cultural areas of Polynesia (including New Zealand Māori), Melanesia and Micronesia. Browse or search issues from 1982 to Dec. 2014 online. Print issues are available in the UHMC Library - see Voyager catalog for details
- Hūlili: Multidisciplinary Research on Hawaiian Well-BeingHūlili is a multidisciplinary forum for current research that examines the nature, needs, and strengths of Hawaiians, their families, and their communities. Browse issues from 2004 to 2013 online. Print issues are available in the UHMC Library.
- Papakilo Database This link opens in a new windowIncludes various collections related to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawaiʻi's history. Includes digitized archival records, including Māhele land documents, genealogy indexes, reports (e.g. SHPD), and Hawaiian language newspapers.
- UlukauUlukau.org includes digitized books on Hawaiian culture, history, and language. The books in Ulukau are divided into 5 categories: Special Features, Beginners, Intermediate, General and Reference.
Research Tip
Why can't I find anything?
The library's databases contain millions of articles from thousands of journals. Oftentimes, if you are having trouble finding relevant articles, the issue is with your keywords. Make sure you are using a good search strategy and a select number of keywords. However, if your topic is too "local", you may have to broaden your search terms or even change them.
Can I access databases off campus?
Indeed. If you encounter problems, try the troubleshooting page.
What is Full-Text?
Full text means that you will be able to read/view the entire text of the article - not just an index entry or abstract.