Researching Local Topics: News
Local News Sources
Local news is where local issues are discussed.
- Be sure to keep in mind bias in news sources. Because of bias, try to read from a variety of sources and use the new evaluation criteria from the library's News research guide.
- Be sure to read newspaper articles carefully. Oftentimes, the reporter will include people, organizations or companies that are proponents or opponents to a particular issue or debate. These names may be useful in your continued research.
- You may have to use Google to search for these local sources (i.e. Maui Now or Maui Time).
- If you need a Maui News article that is locked behind a pay wall, ask a librarian.
Local News Search Engine
Use this Google search widget to find articles from the Honolulu Star-Advertiser, Maui News, Maui Now and Lahaina News.
Library News Databases
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Includes the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and the AP wires that cover local news - AP Newswires This link opens in a new window
News harvested from the Associated Press. The Associated Press (AP) is a not-for-profit news agency owned by its contributing newspapers, radio, and television stations in the United States. The AP is considered "least biased" based on balanced story selection, and it ranks high for factual reporting due to proper sourcing and a clean fact check record.
Maui News Archives
The Maui News is newspaper covering the island of Maui which is published three times a week. The paper includes local news, sports, weather, wedding announcements, obituaries, and classified ads.
Note: Please ask our library staff for assistance with current articles that are behind a paywall or for back newspaper issues on microfilm.
- Full Text Articles Online - August 29, 2004 - present
- Full Text Articles Online - Feb. 17, 1900 - Dec. 29, 1922
Chronicling America: The Maui News
- Full Text Articles on Microfilm - 1900 - 12/31/2016
Contact us for an appointment to access the microfilm reels.
Indexes available:
1900 - 1973
The Index to The Maui News (this is a three volume set) - [Call Number: AI21 .M3 1985]
- Volume 1 covers 1900-1932
- Volume 2 covers 1933-1950
- Volume 3 covers 1951-1973
![[Graphic] The Index to The Maui News is now online](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/57063/images/maui_news_index_online.png)
View all three volumes of The Index to The Maui News online at: http://go.hawaii.edu/4gP
Historic Newspapers
Use the following databases to search for Hawaiian newspapers available online.
Papakilo Database - Search Newspapers
This is a digital collection of historic Hawaiian Newspapers. This collection contains 11,934 issues comprising 58,612 pages and 379,918 articles.
This is a collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948. The newspaper images can be retrieved by word search, title, or date.
News Evaluation Strategies
Start by Asking Yourself These Questions
- Is the information coming from a scholarly or commercial source?
- Does the author present facts objectively or draw opinion-based conclusions?
- Is the message positive, negative, or both?
- In addition to detecting any bias of the source, consider your own reactions and the factors that may impact how you interpret the information.
- Read past the headline. Is the sensational headline just a hook to grab your attention?
- Does the content of the article match the headline? If not, be extra skeptical when evaluating the source and its message.
- How are other sources reporting the same story?