Skip to main content

ENG 210: Find Articles

A guide for students in English 210.

Research Tip

Why can't I find anything?

There are thousands of articles written every month on thousands of topics.  The first step is starting in the right place. Do you need a newspaper article or a magazine article?  What's the difference?  Are they biased? Next, you will need to figure out keywords.  Your preliminary research and the Internet can help you figure out good search terms. 

 

What is Full-Text?

Full text means that you will be able to read/view the entire text of the article - not just an index entry or abstract.

When in doubt?

Ask A Librarian

Evaluating Sites


Currency

-- When was the information created?
-- Does your topic require updated information?

Relevance

-- Does the information relate to your paper/project?
-- Is it written at an appropriate level? (not too advanced or elementary)

Authority

-- Is the author qualified to write on this subject?
-- Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?

Accuracy

-- Where does the information come from?
-- Is the information supported by legitimate sources?

Purpose

-- Why was the site created (advertising, share knowledge, entertainment)?
-- Do the authors make their intentions clear?

What is a database?

Thanks to the Library at RMIT, a Public University in Australia.

Databases at UHMC

Databases A - Z is an alphabetical listing of all library subscribed databases. You can filter the collection by subject (click on the business subject) or by type of database (articles, ebooks, reference shelf, images, etc.).

When to Use A-Z Databases

  • when you want specialized information sources within a discipline or academic field (such as Business or Psychology)
  • when you know the name of a library database you want to search (eg. Business Source Complete)

Academic Search Complete Logo

Academic Search Complete is the largest general Information journal database to which the Library subscribes. It is often a very good starting place.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is linked to the UHMC Library. From this freely accessible, scholarly web search engine, go to Settings > Library Links to sync your Google Scholar page to the full text articles available at your library. Articles indicated with "Get Article" are available through UHMC Library.

For more information, consult the UHMC Library Guide to Google Scholar.

 

Finding articles when you have the citation.

The library has a tool that searches all the library's databases for journal and magazine titles.  If you have an article citation or simply want to see if the library subscribes to a particular title, enter it into the tool below and expand on your results to go the particular databases that has the title:

e-Journal Finder

Pro/Con Databases (paid)

The following databases offer in-depth, non-biased introductions to many of today's important issues. Additionally, these sources may assist you in discovering a topic:

If you are studying a local topic, be sure to consult the Researching Local Issues LibGuide

Websites