Anthropology: Find Articles

Why can't I find anything?

There are thousands of articles written every month on thousands of topics.  The first step is starting in the right place. Do you need a newspaper article or a magazine article?  What's the difference?  Are they biased? Next, you will need to figure out keywords.  Your preliminary research and the Internet can help you figure out good search terms. 

What is Full-Text?

Full text means that you will be able to read/view the entire text of the article - not just an index entry or abstract.

When in doubt?

Ask A Librarian

The library now subscribes to the "Human Relations Area Files" - an anthropology database with information on hundreds of cultures.

Click logo for access

Databases A - Z is an alphabetical listing of all library subscribed databases. You can filter the collection by subject (click on the business subject) or by type of database (articles, ebooks, reference shelf, images, etc.).

When to Use A-Z Databases

• when you want specialized information sources within a discipline or academic field (such as Business or Psychology)
• when you know the name of a library database you want to search (eg. Business Source Complete)

Academic Search Complete is the largest general Information journal database to which the Library subscribes. It contains over 10000 separate Journal Titles.

JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in the humanities and social sciences as well as distinct collections of journals in the fields of economics, history, political science, and sociology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.

Google Scholar is linked to the UHMC Library. From this freely accessible, scholarly web search engine, go to Settings > Library Links to sync your Google Scholar page to the full text articles available at your library. Articles indicated with "Get Article" are available through UHMC Library.

For more information, consult the UHMC Library Guide to Google Scholar.

The library has a tool that searches all the library's databases for journal and magazine titles.  If you have an article citation or simply want to see if the library subscribes to a particular title, enter it into the tool below and expand on your results to go the particular databases that has the title:

e-Journal Finder