Skip to main content

ART 101: Art 101 - Takemoto

MLA Citation Help

Writing Resources

Tips for Writing an Art History Paper - This website was recommended by your instructor to help give you an idea of the do's and don't's when writing your paper..

5 Things to Master presentation

Books & Articles

About this Guide

Hello! This is your library research companion guide. Your librarians have put it together for you, with consideration for your classroom research project.

Remember to Ask a Librarian if you need help with your research.


"Monkeys as Judges of Art" Gabriel Cornelius von Max, 1889. Source: Wikimedia Commons

 

Top 3 Recommended Resources

  1. Credo Reference and/or Encyclopedia Britannica Academic (great for images)
    Two great reference resources. Start your research in one or both of these collections for history and background information. 

  2. Ebook Central
    UHMC Library's subscription to more than 164,000 academic, full-text ebooks. 

  3. Art & Architecture Complete
    Provides full-text coverage of 380 magazines and journals and more than 220 books. This database also includes an Image Collection of over 63,000 images.

In addition to the above resources, you can also try Primo OneSearch for print and electronic resources on your topic. Or, search Films on Demand for direct access to streaming videos.

Try the collection of Hawaii subject databases in Databases A-Z for Hawaiian artwork topics

eBook Examples from Ebook Central

The following is a sample of books available online through Ebook Central. Click on the book title to read the book online - note: you will be required to login with your UH username and password to get access.

Want more Art resources?

Click here to view the Art LibGuide

On it, you'll find links to background information, books, and journal articles as well as additional information provided by websites and even magazines.