Journalism 250

Useful for tracking specific keywords online.

For specific searching, including finding photos that are "Free to use and share."

Useful source for help formatting and spelling Hawaiian words correctly.

Step-by-step instructions by UHMC professor Keola Donaghy.

The American Press Institute conducts research, training, convenes thought leaders and creates tools to help chart a path ahead for journalism in the 21st century. The Press Institute is an educational non-advocacy 501(c)3 nonprofit organization affiliated with the Newspaper Association of America. It aims to help the news media, especially local publishers and newspaper media, advance in the digital age.

Founded in 1989 by Charles Lewis, the Center for Public Integrity is one of the country's oldest and largest nonpartisan, nonprofit investigative news organizations. Our mission: To serve democracy by revealing abuses of power, corruption and betrayal of public trust by powerful public and private institutions, using the tools of investigative journalism.

A nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. Monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.

PolitiFact started in 2007 and is now owned by the Poynter Institute for Media Studies. From the beginning, PolitiFact focused on looking at specific statements made by politicians and rating them for accuracy on the Truth-O-Meter – True, Mostly True, Half True, Mostly False and False. The most ridiculous falsehoods get the lowest rating, Pants on Fire.

The purpose of this Web site, and an accompanying column in the Sunday print edition of The Washington Post, is to “truth squad” the statements of political figures regarding issues of great importance, be they national, international or local.

Provides balanced news and civil discourse.

This website rates factual accuracy and bias in news media. The site classifies media sources on a political bias spectrum, as well as on the accuracy of their factual reporting. Browser plugin also available.

Social media dashboard. Helps you manage multiple social media streams from one place. Limited free version.

Twitter tool for real-time tracking, organizing, and engagement.

Storify allows users to curate social media content from reliable sources and turn them into journalistic style stories.

Create a blog.

Use to find the measurement of your overall online influence.

The C-SPAN Video Library began within the Purdue University School of Liberal Arts in 1987 under the leadership of Dr. Robert X. Browning, who sought a way to archive and index the thousands of hours of congressional coverage produced by the network every year. The project quickly became one of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content, and C-SPAN assumed responsibility for the archival operations in July 1998.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

Since 1975, CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation. CBO is strictly nonpartisan; conducts objective, impartial analysis; and hires its employees solely on the basis of professional competence without regard to political affiliation. CBO does not make policy recommendations, and each report and cost estimate summarizes the methodology underlying the analysis.

Government Publishing Office website provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.

The official website for the State of Hawaii; information, services, and public servants are included.

The Comptroller manages the state’s finances, acting as tax collector, chief accountant, chief revenue estimator and chief treasurer for all of state government. This site provides budgetary information for the State of Hawaii.

Provides agriculture resources and information for the state of Texas.

This site provides primary and secondary education resources and information for the state of Hawaii.

This site allows the public to search Texas legislative documents. It also has information about the Hawaii House and Hawaii Senate (their members, committees, etc.).

This site is a directory resource. Every Texas state agency includes a link provides the departmental website, contact information, addresses, phone numbers and links to enabling legislation for that agency.

This catalog contains the holdings of two state agencies and includes a wide range of digital collections.