Journalism 250

Library + Resources

News: Library Databases

The library subscribes to a few essential news collections (articles) and opposing viewpoint databases (reports). These resources are considered essential for college-level research because they are carefully chosen and thoughtfully organized by educational professionals with the student in mind. Using these resources can save you a lot time and hassle because much of the source evaluation work has already been done for you!

Newspaper Source Plus
A large digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Includes the Honolulu Star-Advertiser. For publications covered, see the Newspaper Source Coverage List.
AP Newswires
News harvested from the Associated Press and organized into an EBSCO database. The Associated Press (AP) is a not-for-profit news agency owned by its contributing newspapers, radio, and television stations in the United States. The AP is considered "least biased" based on balanced story selection, and it ranks high for factual reporting due to proper sourcing and a clean fact check record.
CountryWatch
Provides up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Additional features include a wide range of country data and maps.
TOPICsearch
Current events database covering over 500 diverse sources, including international and regional newspapers, current events and "weeklies" magazines, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Issues & Controversies
A collection of reports providing objective, in-depth analysis of today's hot topics. Updated weekly, this resource presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.

News: Credible News Sources

The most credible news sources have established a strong reputation for accuracy and dependable facts. They should have minimal bias and use very few loaded words.

The following is a short list of well-established, award-winning news and media sources with the highest level of factual accuracy:

Associated Press (neutral)
C-Span (neutral)
The Economist (neutral)
Reuters (neutral)
Financial Times (neutral)
NPR (left-center bias)
Real Clear Politics (right-center bias)
NBC News (left-center bias)
ABC News (left-center bias)
Forbes (right-center bias)
Wall Street Journal (right-center bias)
Cato Institute (right-center bias)
BBC News (left-center bias)