Researching Current Events & Issues: Finding Books & Videos
Helpful Hint:
How to Get Information From Books Without Reading the Whole Book
How to Get Information From Books Without Reading the Whole Book
Be sure to notice the book's publication date. Oftentimes statistics or current issues published in books become outdated quickly. Rely on books more for background information and topic history.
Keep in mind that effective research does not always require that you read a book cover to cover. In fact, a book with information related to your topic may be mostly focused on other topics.
You can easily find an introductory chapter that lays out the book's basic premise and a concluding chapter that gives a summary of the argument. At the very least, try to read these sections.
Images & Videos
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
FOD is a comprehensive collection of educational videos and films covering academic and career and technical educations subject areas. Available streaming, 24/7.
- Library DVDsSearch Hawaii Voyager to access a list of DVDs in the UH Libraries System. Select Videorecording/DVD to limit to DVD format.
- Wikimedia CommonsA copyright-free media repository.
Reference Books
Search for background information on your topic by using one of the Reference Databases listed below.
- Credo Reference
Provides full-text access to a comprehensive digital library of high-quality reference materials.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Provides access to the complete encyclopedia and includes many illustrations, photographs, and audio & video clips.
eBook Collections
The Source: Volker Oppmann, via Wikimedia Commons
UHMC Library's ebook collections contain more current titles than its physical collection. Therefore, in most cases, I recommend using a library ebook over a print book for current events research.
- ebrary - UHMC Library's subscription to more than 70,000 academic, full-text ebooks. Most titles are downloadable for use offline. Apple iOS or Android mobile device use the free BlueFire Reader app.
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection - a small ebook collection that includes UH Press (may be good for some local topics)
Featured eBooks from ebrary
Conspiracy Theories : Secrecy and Power in American Culture by Call Number: available from ebraryISBN: 9780816666454Publication Date: 2008-01-01Conspiracy Theories : Secrecy and Power in American Culture
Here a just a few of the many ebooks available through ebrary that address a particular current event or hot topic in the news.
Thwarting Consumer Choice by Call Number: available through ebraryISBN: 9780844743431Publication Date: 2010-01-01Thwarting Consumer Choice: The Case Against Mandatory Labeling for Genetically Modified Foods
Bottled and Sold by Call Number: available through ebraryISBN: 9781597268103Publication Date: 2010-05-01Bottled and Sold: The Story Behind Our Obsession with Bottled Water
