Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hawaii Newspapers: Research Guide

About This Guide

In Hawaiʻi, 1,250 newspaper titles were published between 1834 and 2000. The majority of newspaper content that we still have today are available on microfilm, a few are available in paper and a select few newspapers have been converted to digital formats. 

This guide includes information about Hawai'i newspapers that are available online, in print, and/or on microfilm at the UHMC Library. 

Most Frequently Used

Maui News

The Maui News is newspaper covering the island of Maui which is published three times a week. The paper includes local news, sports, weather, wedding announcements, obituaries, and classified ads.

Note: Please ask our library staff for assistance with current articles that are behind a paywall or for back newspaper issues on microfilm.

Full Text Articles Online - August 29, 2004 - present
www.mauinews.com

Full Text Articles Online - Feb. 17, 1900 - Dec. 29, 1922
Chronicling America: The Maui News

Indexed Articles (print or microfilm)

1900 - 1973
The Index to The Maui News (this is a three volume set) - [Call Number: AI21 .M3 1985]

  • Volume 1 covers 1900-1932
  • Volume 2 covers 1933-1950
  • Volume 3 covers 1951-1973

[Graphic] The Index to The Maui News is now online

View all three volumes of The Index to The Maui News online at: http://go.hawaii.edu/4gP

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source Plus

Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. Newspaper Source Plus also features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts. Good for current events. Links to full-text Honolulu Star-Advertiser articles for local research.

 

Hawaii Newspapers (in ProQuest) [on-campus use only]

Includes back issues and up to the day before current, as shown below:
 

Hawaiian Language Newspapers

Need help with your research? Contact us!

Reference Desk
(808) 984-3298

Text/SMS
(808) 518-4080

Email
help@maui-hawaii.libanswers.com