Skip to main content

HWST 262: Resources

This guide provides tips and resources for researching Maui's history and culture.

Nā Puke (Books)

Below is a selection of books that include stories of places on Maui as well as stories from around Hawaiʻi that help provide an understanding of Hawaiian spirituality, culture, and history.

Note: When reading these titles, be sure to pay attention to any footnotes or references that may lead you to other useful resources on your topic.

Hawaiian Legends Index

Search here to locate myths and legends indexed in 77 books.

Search for:

 

appear somewhere in Subject

A print edition is also available in the Hawaiian Reference section (library main floor).

Want to know what books are indexed? Click here to view the the list.

 
 

ʻImi iā Voyager (Searching in Voyager)

 

Use Primo One Search to search for books and media (videos, DVDs & CDs) on your topic.

When searching in One Search or any other databases, it is important to find and use the appropriate keywords (these can vary by database) on your topic. Depending on your research topic, you may want to try different keywords to see what works best. To help get you started, below is a list of recommended keywords for researching stories about a specific place.

By Place/Geography

If searching for the legends of a particular place, start with a general search for your assigned moku as well as for the names of ahupuaʻa or ʻili within that moku. Then use the following subject headings and the name of the place to narrow your search if needed. Or, combine these keywords with "Maui" to broaden your search to include stories of Maui (the island) generally that might make mention to places in your moku.

  • History
  • Mythology
  • Legends
  • Folklore
  • Cosmology
  • Cosmogony
  • Folk literature
  • Tales
  • Oral tradition

Remember to try different keywords and combinations of keywords in to help in your searches.

Maps

Maps, Aerial Photos, and GIS (MAGIS)

Over 200,000 maps, with emphasis of Hawaiʻi, Asia, and the Pacific.


Kipuka Database

A geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history. Kipuka links historic data sets to geographic locations. This database was created by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs.

Citing Sources

Citations can feel tedious sometimes but it is important to credit the sources you use in your research. Not to worry, there are resources to help you. Review the Citing Sources guide to get started with citation basics and style guides.

ʻImi Nūpepa (Searching Newspapers)

Use the following databases to search for Hawaiian newspapers available online.

Papakilo Database logo

Papakilo Database - Search Newspapers
This is a digital collection of historic Hawaiian Newspapers. This collection contains 11,934 issues comprising 58,612 pages and 379,918 articles.

 

Ulukau logo

Hoʻolaupaʻi (nupepa.org)

This is a collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948. The newspaper images can be retrieved by word search, title, or date.

 

Nā Puke Wehewehe (Dictionaries)

Use Hawaiian Dictionaries online to look up Hawaiian words.

Or, check out the following dictionaries from the Library:

Librarian

Shavonn Matsuda's picture
Shavonn Matsuda
Contact:
Office: Library, 3rd floor