HIST 283: Home

Welcome to your HIST 283: U.S. Women's History Research Guide!

This guide provides links to current event databases available through the library as well as a selection of U.S. and international news sources that will assist you in learning more about current events.

To help get you started, the videos in this box provide an orientation to the services available at UHMC Library and an introduction to the library website (for first-timers). If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to Contact us at the Library - we're here to support you!

1) Library Services for Students

2) Introduction to the Library website

Want more videos and tutorials? Check out:

• Info Lit Modules - My Library Packet: This series will introduce you to foundational information literacy skills and concepts. Complete the series or just choose the modules that will be most helpful you.
• Library DIY - A "how to" guide for research that walks you through a 4 step process.
• Search Help - Tips for searching for books, ebooks, magazines, journals, and more.

Here are 2 key places to find sources for your Final Inquiry Project:

• Primo Search
  Search "everything" available through the UHMC Library - includes all library subscribed databases, print and ebook collections, and more.
   
• Google Scholar
  Search the Internet - Google Scholar is recommended over doing a regular Google search. Consult the Using Google Scholar page for instructions on accessing the full-text articles via the UHMC Library databases, extracting citations, and using advanced search to search authors and geographic locations.

The following are a selection of journal and newspaper databases available through the UHMC Library. You may need to login with your UH username and password to access these.

Opposing Viewpoints Reports: The following databases offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of many of today's important issues:

• CQ Researcher
• Issues & Controversies

Newspaper & Magazine Articles: Search these magazine or newspaper databases for recent articles on all topics:

• TOPICsearch
• MasterFILE Premier
• Newspaper Source Plus

Are your sources crappy or not? Evaluate your sources using this CRAAP test.

Currency

-- When was the information created?

-- Does your topic require updated information? 

 

Relevance

-- Does the information relate to your paper/project?

-- Is it written at an appropriate level? (not too advanced or elementary)

 

Authority

-- Is the author qualified to write on this subject?

-- Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?

 

Accuracy

-- Where does the information come from?

-- Is the information supported by legitimate sources?

 

Purpose

-- Why was the site created (advertising, share knowledge, entertainment)?

-- Do the authors make their intentions clear?

 

Citations can feel a bit tedious sometimes but it is important to cite the sources you use in your research. Not to worry, there are resources to help you...

Chicago

The following streaming videos are available online 24/7 for UHMC students, faculty, and staff with UH login.

Please note that it may take a few minutes to load the video.

Two databases to check for more streaming videos:

Here are some U.S. and international news sources for your assignment:

Aljazeera

Initially launched as an Arabic news and current affairs satellite TV channel, Al Jazeera has expanded into a network with several outlets. It's a Doha-based state-funded broadcaster owned by the Al Jazeera Media Network.

Asia Times

A newspaper launched in Thailand in 1995. Its new publisher is Asia Times Holdings Limited, incorporated and duly registered in Hong Kong.

BBC News

The BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) is a British public service broadcaster with its headquarters in London, England.

Democracy Now!

A national, daily, independent, award-winning news program hosted by journalists Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez.

The Guardian

The Guardian is a British national daily newspaper; it's part of the Guardian Media Group, owned by The Scott Trust Limited.

Mother Jones

A reader-supported nonprofit news organization reporting on everything from politics and climate change to education and food.

The Nation

Founded by abolitionists in 1865, The Nation is America’s oldest weekly magazine. It reports on issues of importance to the progressive community, including politics, social issues and the arts.

National Public Radio (NPR)

A multimedia news organization and radio program producer. NPR is a state-run media organization that produces and distributes news and cultural programming to a network of 900 public radio stations in the United States.

The New York Times

An American daily newspaper founded and continuously published in New York City since 1851, by The New York Times Company.

The New York Times - Women and Girls

News about women and girls, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.

The Wall Street Journal

A business-focused, international newspaper based in New York City. The Journal is published six days a week by Dow Jones & Company, a division of News Corp.

Washington Post

An American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. - because of its location in the capital city of the United States, the newspaper has an emphasis on U.S. national politics.

Women Rule - Politico

Founded in 2007, POLITICO focuses on the intersection of politics, policy, and power. Women Rule takes you behind the scenes with the women
reshaping politics, policy and power.

Yes! A Better World Today

YES! Media is independent and nonpartisan. It analyzes societal problems in terms of their root causes and explores opportunities for systemic, structural change. Stories uncover environmental, economic, and social justice intersections.

Click to view a list of 24 websites to find original free pics. I use Pixabay a lot but try a few of these and see which you like best.