HIST 282: Research Guide
Start Here
Welcome to your HIST 282 Research Guide!
Here you'll find resources and helpful tips to assist you in this course. Each of these were selected by librarians and your instructor as the most commonly referenced and/or used resources for HIST 282. These are just a sample of the resources available to you through UHMC Library, contact us for help finding other resources or for any questions that may arise during your research journey.
Looking for videos and tutorials? Check out:
- Library DIY - A "how to" guide for research that walks you through a 4 step process.
- Search Help - Tips for searching for books, ebooks, magazines, journals, and more.
Books
Here are links to your required course readings that are available online.
* You may need to login with your UH username and password before accessing the electronic books.
The Souls of Black Folk by
The Souls of Black Folk is a classic work of American literature by W. E. B. Du Bois. It is a seminal work in the history of sociology, and a cornerstone of African-American literary history.To develop this groundbreaking work, Du Bois drew from his own experiences as an African-American in the American society. Outside of its notable relevance in African-American history, The Souls of Black Folk also holds an important place in social science as one of the early works in the field of sociology.
Call Number: E185.6 .D797 2014ISBN: 9781505223378Publication Date: 2014-11-28
The Vietnam War: a concise international history by
The Vietnam War remains a topic of extraordinary interest, not least because of striking parallels between that conflict and more recent fighting in the Middle East. In The Vietnam War, Mark Atwood Lawrence draws upon the latest research in archives around the world to offer readers a superb account of a key moment in U.S. as well as global history.While focusing on American involvement between 1965 and 1975, Lawrence offers an unprecedentedly complete picture of all sides of the war, notably by examining the motives that drove the Vietnamese communists and their foreign allies. Moreover, the book carefully considers both the long- and short-term origins of the war. Lawrence examines the rise of Vietnamese communism in the early twentieth century and reveals how Cold War anxieties of the 1940s and 1950s set the United States on the road to intervention. Of course, the heart of the book covers the "American war," ranging from the overthrow of South Vietnamese President Ngo Dinh Diem to the impact of the Tet Offensive on American public opinion, Lyndon Johnson's withdrawal from the 1968 presidential race, Richard Nixon's expansion of the war into Cambodia and Laos, and the problematic peace agreement of 1973, which ended American military involvement. Finally, the book explores the complex aftermath of the war--its enduring legacy in American books, film, and political debate, as well as Vietnam's struggles with severe social and economic problems.A compact and authoritative primer on an intensely relevant topic, this well-researched and engaging volume offers an invaluable overview of the Vietnam War.
Call Number: DS557.7 .L378 2008ISBN: 9780199718122Publication Date: 2008-01-01
War Time: an idea, its history, its consequences by
When is wartime? On the surface, it is a period of time in which a society is at war. But we now live in what President Obama has called "an age without surrender ceremonies," as the Administration announced an "end to conflict in Iraq," even though conflict on the ground is ongoing. It is nolonger easy to distinguish between wartime and peacetime.In this inventive meditation on war, time, and the law, Mary Dudziak argues that wartime is not as discrete a time period as we like to think. Instead, America has been engaged in some form of ongoing overseas armed conflict for over a century. Meanwhile policy makers and the American publiccontinue to view wars as exceptional events that eventually give way to normal peace times. This has two consequences. First, because war is thought to be exceptional, "wartime" remains a shorthand argument justifying extreme actions like torture and detention without trial. Second, ongoing warfareis enabled by the inattention of the American people. More disconnected than ever from the wars their nation is fighting, public disengagement leaves us without political restraints on the exercise of American war powers.Visit http://wartimebook.blogspot.com/ to learn more.
Call Number: U21.2 .D75 2012ISBN: 9780199775231Publication Date: 2012-02-07
Find other print or electronic books in the UH Maui College Library Collection using One Search
IMPORTANT: If you find a book or DVD that's available at another UH library, you may request for that item be mailed to the UHMC Library for your use.
Once you find the book/DVD that you want, select the item record:
- Click on "Get It" in the item record
- Log in with your UH username and password when prompted
- Select "Maui CC" as your pick-up location
- A green notification will pop up on the screen when the request is successfully placed
You will receive an email notification when the items are ready to be picked up. Please allow 5-7 business days for the items to be sent to the UHMC Library.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand (FOD) is a comprehensive collection of educational videos and films covering academic and career and technical educations subject areas. Available streaming, 24/7.
Here are some of the most popular streaming videos about American history in FOD:
Find Background Information on Your Topic
Begin your research by searching for background information on your topic, using the following Reference Database:
- Issues & Controversies in American History
An opposing viewpoint database that strives to deliver balanced coverage of major debates and conflicts in American History. Most articles feature multiple primary sources.
Tips for finding books in the Library
* Looking for books on American History?
Check in the E section of the General Collection (3rd floor and to the left).
* Researching a Hawai'i-specific topic?
Look in the DU section of the Hawaiian Collection (3rd floor and to the right).