Indigenous Methodologies
This Research Guide provides links to resources about Indigenous Methodologies.
Kanaka Methodologies
Kanaka ʻōiwi methodologies: moʻolelo and metaphor by
For many new Indigenous scholars, the start of academic research can be an experience rife with conflict in many dimensions. This is a collection of "methods-focused" essays written by Kanaka scholars across academic disciplines. To better illustrate for practitioners how to use research for deeper understanding, positive social change, as well as language and cultural revitalization, the texts examine Native Hawaiian Critical Race Theory, Hawaiian traditions and protocol in environmental research, using mele (song) for program evaluation, and more.
Call Number: Hawaiian DU624.5 .K34 2016Publication Date: 2015
The Past Before Us by
In this collection of essays, eleven Kanaka 'Ōiwi (Native Hawaiian) scholars honor their mo'okū'auhau (geneaological lineage) by using genealogical knowledge drawn from the past to shape their research methodologies. Their work offers broadly applicable yet deeply personal perspectives on complex Hawaiian issues and demonstrates that enduring ancestral ties and relationships to the past are not only relevant, but integral, to contemporary Indigenous scholarship. Chapters on language, literature, cosmology, spirituality, diaspora, identity, relationships, activism, colonialism, and cultural practices unite around methodologies based on mo'okū'auhau. This cultural concept acknowledges the times, people, places, and events that came before; it is a fundamental worldview that guides our understanding of the present and our navigation into the future.
Call Number: Hawaiian DU624.5 .P37 2019Publication Date: 2019
Hoʻoulu : our time of becoming: collected early writings of Manulani Meyer by
With the publication of this book, Dr. Manulani Aluli Meyer leaves Western construct behind and embraces Native Hawaiian and indigenous education and life models. Ho'oulu gathers her writings and ruminations on transforming information to knowledge, facts to metaphor, and sensation to contemplation. Her collected writings culminate in an unedited version of her doctoral thesis Native Hawaiian Epistemology: Contemporary Narratives.
Call Number: Hawaiian BD175.M49 H6 2003Publication Date: 2003
Native Hawaiian epistemology : contemporary narratives by
This thesis presents a discussion of Hawaiian epistemology, Hawaiian values and beliefs, as they influence Hawaiian "ways of knowing", are first placed in a political context, then reviewed in a historical context via literature, and finally, current opinion on the topic are noted through the voices and lives of twenty Hawaiian educational/cultureal leaders. This thesis asks the question: "Can Hawaiian identity, intellect, and culture be restored and strengthened within a non-Hawaiian epistemological system?"
Call Number: Hawaiian BD175 .M49 1998Publication Date: 1998
Indigenous Methodologies
Decolonizing Methodologies by Call Number: General Collection GN380 .S65 2012
Research Is Ceremony by
Indigenous researchers are knowledge seekers who work to progress Indigenous ways of being, knowing and doing in a modern and constantly evolving context. This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice. Relationships don't just shape Indigenous reality, they are our reality. Indigenous researchers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony that is Indigenous research. Indigenous research is the ceremony of maintaining accountability to these relationships.
Call Number: Hawaiian GN380 .W554 2008Publication Date: 2008
Indigenous Methodologies by
What are Indigenous research methodologies, and how do they unfold? Indigenous methodologies flow from tribal knowledge, and while they are allied with several western qualitative approaches, they remain distinct. These are the focal considerations of Margaret Kovach's study,which offers guidance to those conducting research in the academy using Indigenous methodologies. Kovach includes topics such as Indigenous epistemologies, decolonizing theory, story as method, situating self and culture, Indigenous methods, protocol, meaning-making, and ethics.
Call Number: General Collection GN42 .K68 2009Publication Date: 2009
Indigenous Research Methodologies by
Responding to increased emphasis in the classroom and the field on exposing students to diverse epistemologies, methods, and methodologies, Bagele Chilisa has written the first textbook that situates research in a larger, historical, cultural, and global context. With case studies from around the world, the book demonstrates the specific methodologies that are commensurate with the transformative paradigm of research and the historical and cultural traditions of third-world and indigenous peoples.
Call Number: Hawaiian GN380 .C494 2012Publication Date: 2012
Decolonizing Research: Indigenous Storywork as Methodology by
From Oceania to North America, Indigenous peoples have created storytelling traditions of incredible depth and diversity. The term 'Indigenous storywork' has come to encompass the sheer breadth of ways in which indigenous storytelling serves as a historical record, as a form of teaching and learning, and as an expression of indigenous culture and identity. Decolonizing Research brings together indigenous researchers and activists from Canada, Australia and New Zealand to assert the unique value of indigenous storywork as a focus of research, and to develop methodologies that rectify the colonial attitudes inherent in much past and current scholarship.
Call Number: General Collection GN380 .D433 2019Publication Date: 2019
For Indigenous Eyes Only by
Recognizing an urgent need for Indigenous liberation strategies, Indigenous intellectuals met to create a book with hands-on suggestions and activities to enable Indigenous communities to decolonize themselves. The authors begin with the belief that Indigenous Peoples have the power, strength, and intelligence to develop culturally specific decolonization strategies for their own communities and thereby systematically pursue their own liberation. These scholars and writers demystify the language of colonization and decolonization to help Indigenous communities identify useful concepts, terms, and intellectual frameworks in their struggles toward liberation and self-determination. It aims to facilitate critical thinking while offering recommendations for fostering community discussions and plans for meaningful community action.
Call Number: General Collection E98.E85 F67 2005Publication Date: 2005
Elements of Indigenous style: a guide for writing by and about Indigenous Peoples by Call Number: General Collection PN147 .Y68 2018Publication Date: 2018
Positioning Research by
Positioning Research provides avenues that encompass differing cultural backgrounds and disciplines to enable exploration of research frameworks and shifting paradigms, considering the impact of social media and new forms of knowledge that assist real-time, global distribution of research. The book highlights the possibilities of transition into 'the third space', where negotiation and dialogue are central to positioning research. It upholds the principle that different research methodologies are equally valid and valued in contributing to new knowledge.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2018
At the Risk of Being Heard by
Leading experts in the analysis of ethnicity and indigenous rights explore the questions of why and how the circumstances of Indigenous peoples are improving in some places of the world, while their human rights continue to be abused in others. Drawing on case studies from Asia, Africa, Australia, and the Americas, chapters explore how political organization, natural resource management, economic development, and conflicting definitions over cultural, linguistic, religious, and territorial identity have informed indigenous strategies for empowerment.
Call Number: General Collection GN380 .A85 2003Publication Date: 2003
Trans-Indigenous methodologies for global native literary studies by
What might be gained from reading Native literatures from global rather than exclusively local perspectives of Indigenous struggle? In Trans-Indigenous, Chadwick Allen proposes methodologies for a global Native literary studies based on focused comparisons of diverse texts, contexts, and traditions in order to foreground the richness of Indigenous self-representation and the complexity of Indigenous agency. Through demonstrations of distinct forms of juxtaposition--across historical periods and geographical borders, across tribes and nations, across the Indigenous-settler binary, across genre and media--Allen reclaims aspects of the Indigenous archive from North America, Hawaii, Aotearoa New Zealand, and Australia that have been largely left out of the scholarly conversation.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012
Critical Indigenous Studies by
With increasing speed, the emerging discipline of critical Indigenous studies is expanding and demarcating its territory from Indigenous studies through the work of a new generation of Indigenous scholars. Critical Indigenous Studies makes an important contribution to this expansion, disrupting the certainty of disciplinary knowledge produced in the twentieth century, when studying Indigenous peoples was primarily the domain of non-Indigenous scholars. The volume is organized into three sections: the first includes essays that interrogate the embedded nature of Indigenous studies within academic institutions; the second explores the epistemology of the discipli≠ and the third section is devoted to understanding the locales of critical inquiry and practice. The contributors include Aboriginal, Metis, Maori, Kanaka Maoli, Filipino-Pohnpeian, and Native American scholars working and writing through a shared legacy born of British and later U.S. imperialism.
Call Number: General Collection GN316 .C759 2016Publication Date: 2016
We Are Dancing for You by
Cutcha Risling Baldy's deeply personal account of the revitalization of the women's coming-of-age ceremony for the Hoopa Valley Tribe. Deeply rooted in Indigenous knowledge, Risling Baldy brings us the voices of people transformed by cultural revitalization, including the accounts of young women who have participated in the Flower Dance. Using a framework of Native feminisms, she locates this revival within a broad context of decolonizing praxis and considers how this renaissance of women's coming-of-age ceremonies confounds ethnographic depictions of Native women; challenges anthropological theories about menstruation, gender, and coming-of-age; and addresses gender inequality and gender violence within Native communities.
Call Number: General Collection E99.H8 R57 2018Publication Date: 2018
Braiding Sweetgrass by
Drawing on her life as an Indigenous scientist, and as a woman, Kimmerer shows how other living beings--asters and goldenrod, strawberries and squash, salamanders, algae, and sweetgrass--offer us gifts and lessons, even if we've forgotten how to hear their voices. In reflections that range from the creation of Turtle Island to the forces that threaten its flourishing today, she circles toward a central argument: that the awakening of ecological consciousness requires the acknowledgment and celebration of our reciprocal relationship with the rest of the living world. For only when we can hear the languages of other beings will we be capable of understanding the generosity of the earth, and learn to give our own gifts in return.
Call Number: General Collection E98.P5 K56 2013Publication Date: 2013
Indigenous Literatures
Why Indigenous Literatures Matter by Call Number: Hawaiian PS153.I52 J878 2018Publication Date: 2018
