AG Classes: Research Guide
Browse Ebook Central
1. Reference Shelf
Search for basic or general information on your crop or other agriculture topic by using one of these Reference Databases:
Credo Reference
Provides full-text access to a comprehensive digital library of high-quality reference materials.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Provides access to the complete encyclopedia and includes many illustrations, photographs, and audio & video clips.
2. Deepening your understanding of a topic
BOOKS
Electronic Books
- Ebook Central - UHMC Library's subscription to more than 70,000 academic, full-text ebooks. View online or download into an ebook reader. TIP: Don't forget you can search inside the books for specific keywords or key terms.
Print Book Collection
- Primo - UHMC's collection of books, ebooks, multimedia, articles and more. Visit the Primo Help webpage for tips and tricks for searching Primo.
- When searching for books in the library in the general collection (upstairs and to the left), the Agriculture books will be in the S section, and the Horticulture books will be in the SB section. If you are researching Hawai'i specific topics, you will find books in the Hawaii/Pacific Section (upstairs and to the right) in the same S and SB categories.
3. Finding scholarly articles
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowThis database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowA platform for access to nearly 2,200 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and over 25,000 e-books. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities.
- Google ScholarFrom this freely accessible web search engine, go to Settings > Library Links to sync your Google Scholar page to the full text articles available at your library.