MGT 120: Welcome
Library Quick Links
- Ask a LibrarianYou can chat with a librarian during regular business hours, set up an appointment with a librarian or email a question.
- Bookings InstructionsAn overview of the services available at the library as well as the instructions and protocols for reserving them.
- Book Now!A direct link to the Library's services and spaces schedule
- HoursGet the latest information on the library's hours.
Finding Articles
Databases A - Z is an alphabetical listing of all library subscribed databases including ALL OF THE EBSCO Databases. You can filter the collection by subject type or by type of database (articles, ebooks, reference shelf, images, etc.).
When to Use A-Z Databases
- when you want specialized information sources within a discipline or academic field (e.g. select psychology from the drop-down Subject menu).
- when you know the name of a library database you want to search (eg. Psychology And Behavioral Science Collection)
- as a starting place to find more in-depth sources of information
Best Bet Databases
Business Topics
Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports and company information.
Most Topics
MasterFile Complete -- Contains Full-text articles from over 1500 leading magazines and long-form journalism including:
The Atlantic, Wired, New Yorker, Weekly Standard, New Republic
Finding/Using Keywords
- Keyword TutorialThis short tutorial will help you understand the importance of using keywords and techniques for finding them with your topic.
Research Tip
Why can't I find anything?
There are thousands of articles written every month on thousands of topics. The first step is starting in the right place. Do you need a newspaper article or a magazine article? What's the difference? Are they biased? Next, you will need to figure out keywords. Your preliminary research and the Internet can help you figure out good search terms.
What is Full-Text?
Full text means that you will be able to read/view the entire text of the article - not just an index entry or abstract.
When in doubt?
Ask A Librarian
Presentation Advice and Hints
ZOOM Presentation Tips and Tricks
- Zoom Presentations: Pro Tips for PresentersFrom the Duke University Office of Information Technology, these simple tips are a great way to get ready for your presentation.
- 5 Tips for Delivering a Great Zoom PresentationIn this 5 minute video, the author offers some simple practices to help your presentations better (Tip#2 - Stand Up).
- Presenting in Zoom with Google SlidesContains both text and video instructions for using presenter view in Google slides to view your notes while the zoom participants see your slides.
- How to Look Good on a Video CallThis video shows you ways to improve your appearance on video calls by adjustments to lighting, camera positioning, makeup, etc...
GENERAL ADVICE
There are many different places to find presentation assistance on the web. Here are a few crucial pieces of advice:
- Be Clear -- You may know what you are talking about, but your audience may not. Make sure you are using words and phrases that they will understand. Avoid jargon or specialized language. Try not to ramble or keep repeating the thing.
- Remember your Audience -- Pay attention to your audience's cues: do they look bored or confused? Are they engaged? Are they understanding what you want them to understand? An activity or interactive handout is a great way to do this.
-
Technology -- If you are going to use technology, make sure it works and make sure you know how to use it... There is no better way to make your audience bored than making them wait.