PSY 253: Find Articles
1. Consider Which Field Concerns Itself with Your Research Question
Because Conflict Resolution is a field that overlaps with many other disciplines, there is no one database that covers all of its literature. The best way to pursue your research topic is to consider which field concerns itself with your research question.
Does it relate to educational settings, business mediation, interpersonal conflict, international conflict, or another area? Consider which fields would have researchers writing about your topic and then explore the databases and other research tools that relate to those fields.
Here are some examples:
| Research or project topic | Fields where researchers might be exploring this topic |
| Bullying prevention in middle schools > | Education |
| How people in a group or non-profit communicate > | Psychology, Sociology, Business, Communications |
| Conflict resolution in marriages > | Psychology |
| Peace studies > | Humanities |
2. Getting Started with Encyclopedias
How do you know which discipline to choose? Here's one strategy: try searching for your topic, or some smaller parts of it, in Credo Reference (encyclopedias), and take note of which discipline has the most coverage of that topic.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Mainly encyclopedias. A large digital collection of reference materials including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, maps and images.
Dictionary of Conflict Resolution by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780787946791Publication Date: 1999-09-10The original dictionary for the field of conflict resolution. Defining 1,400 terms, this comprehensive resource will standardize the language of conflict resolution--improving dialogue and understanding among professionals and theorist and promoting uniformity and consistency in the language.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780123695031Publication Date: 2008-08-28The 2nd edition of Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict provides timely and useful information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life.
3. Finding & Selecting Databases
When you're ready to select a database, visit Databases A to Z for a complete list. From Databases A-Z, you can view subject-specific databases by filtering By Subject at the top of the screen.
Or, select a database from the list below.
Multidisciplinary Databases & Best Bets
Some databases have information from a range of disciplines. Academic Search Premier and JSTOR, linked below, can be great tools for finding some good information from a range of sources.
A good way to search a database is combine two keywords or key phrases with the word and in the middle. Here are some examples:
- music and conflict resolution
- NGOs and communication
- palestine and mediation
Remember that if conflict resolution as a term isn't getting you good results, you may want to explore synonyms or related terms (like conflict management, dispute resolution, mediation, interpersonal conflict, intervention, negotiation, etc.). Or you may want to search for information just on your primary topic and see what terms are getting used within that literature. TIP: Check the subject headings associated with your favorite articles for keyword ideas.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMainly scholarly journal articles. This EBSCO database contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Covers all subject areas.
- Arts & Sciences I. JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics. - Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 530 full-text journals. This database also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Education
The research literature in Education can be useful as well. The key database to search is called ERIC. Note that you may want to avoid using the term conflict resolution in your ERIC searches as you may miss great articles that use different terminology.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, has been providing access to education literature and resources since 1966. The largest education article collection, this database contains more than 1.3 million records including those from 600+ journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Unfortunately, indexing is several months behind other databases.
Business Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowEBSCO's Business Source Complete database that includes additional search and browse features for company and industry profiles and market research reports. Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports and company information.
- Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new windowA wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.