BUS 120: Introduction
Recommended Research Guides
Recommended Library Databases
- Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new windowA wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Ebook Central is a collection of electronic books covering a wide range of subject areas. All books may be read online or downloaded in chapters or whole books. Consult with a librarian or visit the Ebook Central's help pages for troubleshooting or download help.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowEBSCO's Business Source Complete database that includes additional search and browse features for company and industry profiles and market research reports. Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports and company information.
Hawaii Statistics and Background Data
- State of Hawaii Data Book
"...official summary of statistics on the social, economic, and political organization of our state." 2000-present.
- Maui County Data Book
"... a useful and valuable source of economic, demographic and other statistical information about the County of Maui."
- State of Hawaii Census and Population (DBEDT)
Customized links to Hawaii profiles for American Community Survey, Economic Census and more.
- Hawaii Community Profiles
Compiled by the Hawai`i Business Research Library (HBRL) from data at the U.S. Census Bureau
- Native Hawaiian Databook
"...official summary of statistics on the social, economic, and political organization of our state...also includes resource lists for education, health, human services, and economic development, and GIS maps to illustrate the demographic distribution of the Native Hawaiian population in the state of Hawai'i."
Using NAICS Codes
NAICS codes are used to classify and measure industry activity. Knowing the code for your industry will help you find reports, articles, and other information.
- NAICS WebsiteUse this site to search for NAICS codes.
Note: It can be tricky to find the right wording. Try variants- cell phone vs. mobile phone vs. wireless communications, etc.
TROUBLE FINDING CODES?
If you are unable to determine the appropriate code for an industry, look up a company you know is in that industry in EBSCO'S Business Source Complete to see what codes are assigned to that company.
Hint: Search for company name, and view the company profile to see the SIC and NAICS codes assigned by this database.
U.S. Industry & Company Data
Some statistics will appear in industry reports you find in Business Source Complete, Statista or online. Use the government websites below to find more extensive or comparative data.
Note: industry statistics will NOT mention specific companies.
Industry Snapshots
Quick statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau's Economic Census.
U.S. Census Bureau (American FactFinder)
Includes Economic Census and other government-collected data.
For a given industry and geographic area, find:
-Number of businesses,
-Employment size and payroll,
-Sales figures,
-and more.
Steps:
1. Select desired industry code(s), using the link on the left-hand side.
2. Narrow results by topic and/or geography if necessary.
Tip: If your initial search fails, try a broader code designation,
i.e. 8123 vs. 812320 for Drycleaning & Laundry Services
SEC 10-K Filings
Public companies will publish legal information and information addressing regulation in their 10-K reports. Use your browser’s Find feature to search for “regulatory,” “regulate,” “government,” “lawsuit,” “litigation,” etc.