Skip to main content

Borrowing Services

Fines & fees for lost items

Overview

Borrowers should be aware that outstanding fines or other financial obligations may hold up registration, graduation, and/or borrowing privileges. Fines are computed on a daily basis, including weekends and holidays. An item is considered lost when the fine reaches $10.00 (10 days after the due date for items at $1.00 per day; 20 days after the due date for items at $.50 per day; 40 days after the due date for items at $.25 per day). Lost charges include the replacement cost of the item, a $10 NON-REFUNDABLE processing fee and accumulated overdue fines.

View the complete Libraries of the University of Hawaii System Circulation Policy (PDF)

Books
These standard loan and renewal periods apply to books in the Main collections. They do not apply to special collections of books (e.g. Library Use Only or Hawaiian). All books are subject to holds and recalls.

BOOKS
(Item Type, not format)
Loan and Renewal Period Renewals Grace Period Overdue Fines $10 Maximum Guaranteed Loan When Recalled Recall Rate
$10 Maximum
Undergraduate Students 28 days 5 0 $.25/day 14 days $.50/day
Graduate Students 91 days 5 0 $.25/day 14 days $.50/day
Faculty/Staff 182 days 99 0 $.25/day 14 days $.50/day

 

Audiovisual Media

These standard loan and renewal periods apply to av/media (CDs & DVDs) in the Main collections. They do not apply to special collections of media (e.g. Library Use Only or Reserves).

AV/MEDIA

(Item Type, not format)

Loan and Renewal Period Renewals Grace Period Overdue Fines $10 Maximum Holds or Recalls
Undergraduate Students 4 days 1 0 $1/day N/A
Graduate Students 4 days 1 0 $1/day N/A
Faculty/Staff 4 days 1 0 $1/day N/A
Note: These audiovisual media loan periods and fines apply ONLY to walk-in transactions, not media that is booked through the Media Scheduling/Booking module.

 

Lost Item Replacement

  Default Lost Charges Fines and Processing Fee Declared Lost
BOOKS $60 or actual cost or replacement copy ($80 Law/Medicine) Accumulated fines up to $10 and $10 processing fee 41 days
AV/MEDIA 11 days
Note: Lost Item refers to any library item charged out to a borrower that has not been returned within a specified period of time.

 

Paying your fines & fees

In Person
Library fines can be paid in person at any University of Hawaii Library.

 

Credit or Debit Card
Fines over $10 can be paid by credit or debit card at the UHMC Business Office in the Ho'okipa Building.
 

By Mail
Make your check, money order or cashier's check payable to UH Maui College Library, and send your payment to:

UH Maui College Library
310 W Ka'ahumanu Avenue
Kahului, HI 96732

Please call the circulation desk at (808) 984-3715 to verify the amount you owe prior to sending your payment.