ENG 100

Library Research Assistance for all students in English 100

What is a database?

Thanks to the Library at RMIT, a Public University in Australia.

Databases at UHMC

Databases A - Z is an alphabetical listing of all library subscribed databases including ALL OF THE EBSCO Databases. You can filter the collection by subject type or by type of database (articles, ebooks, reference shelf, images, etc.).

When to Use A-Z Databases

when you want specialized information sources within a discipline or academic field (e.g. select psychology from the drop-down Subject menu).
when you know the name of a library database you want to search (e.g. Psychology And Behavioral Science Collection)
as a starting place to find more in-depth sources of information

Best Bet Database for

Opinion/Rogerian/Issue oriented Essays

MasterFile Complete -- Contains Full-text articles from over 1500 leading magazines and long-form journalism including:

The Atlantic, Wired, New Yorker, Weekly Standard, New Republic

Pro/Con Databases

The following databases offer in-depth, non-biased introductions to many of today's important issues. Additionally, these sources may assist you in discovering a topic:

CQ Researcher
Each week, CQ tackles a topic in the news. Each issue contains a wealth of information including an overview of the topic, pro/con essays, and an excellent bibliography.
Issues & Controversies
Tackles current issues as well as classic controversial subjects (i.e. abortion or gun control) by looking at all sides.
Congressional Digest
"An independent, scholarly publication featuring controversies before Congress. Congressional Digest is not an official organ, nor is it controlled by any party, interest, class or sect."
more...less...
Maui College students have access to this publication through MasterFILE. Use the link to the magazine above to find the PRO/CON issue you need and Click here for direct access through MasterFILE and to select the issue by month.

If you are studying a local topic, be sure to consult the Researching Local Issues LIBGUIDE

Websites

Pro/Con
A non-partisan website dedicated to critical thinking and looking at all sides of an issue.
Pew Research
A fact/think tank that attempts to inform people of the issues. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions.
National Conference of State Legislators
NCSL is a bi-partisan group working for the legislatures of the the states and commonwealths of the United States. They conducts policy research in a variety of areas ranging from agriculture and budget and tax issues and education to health care and immigration and transportation.
RAND Research Group
RAND research analyzes critical issues of particular relevance to the public policy debate. They conduct surveys as well as original research.