Native Hawaiian Health Summer Bridge: Home
Aloha mai kākou!
Welcome to the research guide for your Native Hawaiian Health Summer Bridge course! This site has helpful information and resources for your research and course assignments.
Evaluating Your Sources
Are your sources crappy or not? Evaluate your sources using this CRAAP test.
- The CRAAP TestClick above to view a CRAAP Test evaluation sheet.
- Currency
- -- When was the information created?
- -- Does your topic require updated information?
- Relevance
- -- Does the information relate to your paper/project?
- -- Is it written at an appropriate level? (not too advanced or elementary)
- Authority
- -- Is the author qualified to write on this subject?
- -- Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?
- Accuracy
- -- Where does the information come from?
- -- Is the information supported by legitimate sources?
- Purpose
- -- Why was the site created (advertising, share knowledge, entertainment)?
- -- Do the authors make their intentions clear?
Health Information - Symptoms
- Isabel Symptom CheckerThe Isabel symptom checker has been used by professionals to help diagnosis conditions for over two decades. It is a trusted site worldwide to enter symptoms and see various diagnoses.
- Sharecare - Ask MDAnother diagnostic tool that allows you to enter symptoms and receive a possible diagnosis.
Health Information - Websites
Websites
- The Mayo ClinicA good source for reliable, accurate, and up-to-date basic information on a variety of "more common" diseases.
- Centers for Disease ControlThis section of the CDC website contains general overviews and information on hundreds of diseases.
- Medline PlusContains worthwhile information on body systems and individual diseases. In addition to basic information about diseases/conditions, there are also numerous links to additional websites and information sources.
- World Health OrganizationThe WHO produces fact sheets and medical information on major diseases that affect the developing world . Select your disease from the health topics and explore the site to find additional information on your disease.
- SPECIAL INTEREST ORGANIZATIONTry and find the organization or group that is most concerned with your disease (i.e. Lupus Foundation). usually, these will have good updated information about treatments and the disease itself.
Books
Magill's Medical GuideCall Number: REF RC41 .M34 2011ISBN: 9781587656774An all purpose guide offering introductions on a variety of medical conditions, diseases, and terminology.
Gale Encyclopedia of MedicineCall Number: REF RC41 .G35 2011ISBN: 9781414486468Another comprehensive medical guide with information on more than 1,700 medical topics in accessible language (no jargon). Disease/disorder articles typically cover definition; description; causes and symptoms; diagnosis; treatments; prevention; and more.
Electronic Books
Available only through subscription, Ebook Central contains thousands of eBooks in all subjects.
Information is available on many diseases. Some of the information is written for professionals or researchers while others are more "student firiendly."
Check the collection for over 70,000 eBooks in all subject areas.
Health Information - Articles/Databases
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowA collection of consumer health information on many health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, and general health.
- MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Resources on Health Professions
- Explore Heath CareersA website that lists types of health care jobs and their requirements. Although it is ad supported, it originated as a federal grant product to fill minority gaps in the healthcare field.
- Hawaiʻi Industry SectorsThis website provides information about occupations, including a snapshot of industry demands and the current spread of occupations in Hawaiʻi and the United States.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThis handbook can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for health occupations and hundreds of others.
Need research help?
If any questions come up, please don't hesitate to contact the library -
Text message: (808) 518-4080
Phone: (808) 984-3298
Email: uhmclib@hawaii.edu
Chat us via the Live Chat box on our website.
You can also contact your librarian liaisons directly by clicking the "Email Me" button in the boxes below to email Shavonn or Jeffrey.
