ENG: Find Articles
Why can't I find anything?
There are thousands of articles written every month on thousands of topics. The first step is starting in the right place. Do you need a newspaper article or a magazine article? What's the difference? Are they biased? Next, you will need to figure out keywords. Your preliminary research and the Internet can help you figure out good search terms.
What is Full-Text?
Full text means that you will be able to read/view the entire text of the article - not just an index entry or abstract.
When in doubt?
Ask A Librarian
- Keyword TutorialThis short tutorial will help you understand the importance of using keywords and techniques for finding them with your topic.
- The CRAAP TestAre your sources crappy or not? Look at your source and ask yourself these questions.
-- When was the information created?
-- Does your topic require updated information?
-- Does the information relate to your paper/project?
-- Is it written at an appropriate level? (not too advanced or elementary)
-- Is the author qualified to write on this subject?
-- Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?
-- Where does the information come from?
-- Is the information supported by legitimate sources?
-- Why was the site created (advertising, share knowledge, entertainment)?
-- Do the authors make their intentions clear?
What is a database?
Thanks to the Library at RMIT, a Public University in Australia.
Databases at UHMC
Databases A - Z is an alphabetical listing of all library subscribed databases including ALL OF THE EBSCO Databases. You can filter the collection by subject type or by type of database (articles, ebooks, reference shelf, images, etc.).
When to Use A-Z Databases
- when you want specialized information sources within a discipline or academic field (e.g. select psychology from the drop-down Subject menu).
- when you know the name of a library database you want to search (eg. Psychology And Behavioral Science Collection)
- as a starting place to find more in-depth sources of information
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar is linked to the UHMC Library. From this freely accessible, scholarly web search engine -- Click on the three horizontal bars in the upper left, click Settings > Library Links tand enter "University of Hawaii Maui College" in the area provided. This will sync your Google Scholar page to the full text articles available at the library. Articles indicated with "Get Article" are available through UHMC Library.
For more information, consult the UHMC Library Guide to Google Scholar.
- Pro/ConA non-partisan website dedicated to critical thinking and looking at all sides of an issue.
- Pew ResearchA fact/think tank that attempts to inform people of the issues. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions
- RAND Research GroupRAND research analyzes critical issues of particular relevance to the public policy debate. They conduct surveys as well as original research.
Pro/Con Databases (paid)
The following databases offer in-depth, non-biased introductions to many of today's important issues. Additionally, these sources may assist you in discovering a topic:
- CQ ResearcherEach week, CQ tackles a topic in the news. Each issue contains a wealth of information including an overview of the topic, pro/con essays, and an excellent bibliography.
- Issues & ControversiesTackles current issues as well as classic controversial subjects (i.e. abortion or gun control) by looking at all sides.
If you are studying a local topic, be sure to consult the Researching Local Issues LibGuide.