Skip to main content

Pharmacology Resources

A general guide in Pharmacology for students taking PHRM 106 and PHRM 107

Drug Databases & Websites

Drugs.com
A privately held website, not affiliated with ay pharmacy or drug companies.  This site aims to be a comprehensive and accurate database of drug facts on over 24,000 individual prescription and OTC drugs as well as natural remedies.

 

DailyMed
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive, up-to-date resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.

 

Medline Plus
Includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

 

Drugs@FDA
A searchable catalog of FDA approved drug products both prescription and over the counter.  Includes information such as therapeutic equivalents and links to documents relating to approval.

 

FDA Orange Book
The Food & Drug Administration's Electronic Orange Book with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations enables searching of the approved drug list by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant holder or applicant number.

 

LactMed
LactMed is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Information includes the drugs potential effects on infants and lactation.

 

New Medicines in Development Database
This database includes medicines currently in clinical trials or at FDA for review. Searchable by drug name, indication, status, or company.

 

TGA Drugs in Pregnancy
A database containing information about the potential risks and hazards associated with the use of specific drugs in pregnancy.

 

Toxnet
A suite of databases covering toxicology, environmental, health, and hazardous chemicals.

Specific Databases

OneSearch



‚ÄčOneSearch Discovery Tool
OneSearch is the library's main search engine for electronic and print materials. It provides one-stop searching for books and ebooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more available through the UHMC Library.

When to use OneSearch

  • when you are looking for everything on a specific topic regardless of material type
  • when you are just starting your research