Skip to main content

Pharmacology Resources

A general guide in Pharmacology for students taking PHRM 106 and PHRM 107

Pharmacology Reference Books

Complete Guide to Prescription and Nonprescription Drugs 2015

Contains short entries on thousands of drugs. Includes basic information such as generic equivalents, interactions, and warnings.
REF RM301.15 G75 2015

Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference

A comprehensive guide to drugs in 2 volumes. Volume I covers the individual drugs while Volume 2 focuses on preparations and manufacturers.
REF RS141.3 M37 2014

American Drug Index 2016

Provides composition, strength, doseform, packaging, schedule and usage on over 22,000 individual drugs.
REF RS 355.A48 2015

Drug Abuse Handbook

Contains detailed discussions of drug related issues including information on addiction, drugs in sports as well as detailed decision tress to help simplify decision making and reduce mistakes.
REF RM316 .D76 2006

Drug Facts and Comparisons

Comprehensive drug information reference source intended for health professionals. Arranged by therapeutic drug classes. Each entry (monograph) gives detailed information covering such topics as actions, adverse reactions, and overdosage.
REF RM300 .F33 2016

The Merck Index

One of the most authoritative and well-known information sources about drugs and chemical compounds.
REF RS51 .M4 2013

Phytopharmacy

This book contains individual entries on over 100 different herbal medicines and plant-based supplements. Information such as indications, clinical evidence, interactions, and contraindications.
REF RM666 .H33

A Primer of Drug Action

A guide to the actions, uses and side effects of psychoactive drugs.
REF RM315 .J75 2005

PDR for Herbal Medicines

This reference has information on hundreds of different types of herbs that help healthcare professionals to better counsel their patients. The botanical monographs are supplemented by clinical trials, case reports, efficacy, safety, and more.
REF RS75 .P554

PDR Guide to Drug Interactions, Side Effects, and Indications

The Physicians's Dek Reference guide to drugs.  Includes  full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color product images.
REF RS75 .P3

Primo OneSearch

The library has a new search system that will search all the library holdings (books, films, and articles) at one time.  Be aware that you will get a lot of results.

PRIMO OneSearch

 

Here is a helpful video on using OneSearch:

eBooks

Electronic Books

Available only through subscription, Ebook Central contains thousands of eBooks in all subjects.

Information is available on drugs themselves, more "philosophical"  issues (i.e. drug culture,  drug resistant bacteria,  Opiod epidemic), and diseases and drug treatments.   

 

Check the  collection for over 70,000 eBooks in all subject areas.

Here is a sample:

eReference