PACS 108: More resources

The following documentaries can be streamed for free online 24/7, with your UH login.

Adapting to Climate Change in the Smaller Pacific Island States (2013)

Climate Change is among the most serious challenges facing Pacific Island countries and territories. The small island nations of Cook Islands, Tuvalu, Kiribati and Federated States of Micronesia are no exception particularly with the impacts posed to their communities.

Dances of Life (2005)

For 50,000 years the peoples of the Pacific Islands have expressed and perpetuated their cultural values through dance... Dances of Life examines dances from five island cultures: Maori, Samoan, Palauan, Chamorro (Guam), and Kanak (New Caledonia). How their dances have evolved and incorporated new influences is seen as a testament to the endurance of their cultures.

Half Life: A Parable for the Nuclear Age (1985)

Rooted in first-person interviews, Half Life is a chilling and honest investigation into the United States-led nuclear testing in the Pacific and the real and lasting impact it had on people, now and for generations to come.

Rising Oceans, Changing Lives (2012)

A journey to Lifuka in Tonga Ha'apai group to witness how the Australian government's Pacific Adaptation Strategy Assistance Program (PASAP) is working with the Island communities to assess vulnerability and options for adaptation to sea level rise.

Skin Stories (2003)

Tracing back more than 2,000 years to the Pacific Islands, tattoo is an ancient art form that began as a rite of passage for Polynesians and has become a form of expression for people worldwide... Skin Stories is an anthology of stories and stunning images gathered from the hotspots of Pacific tattoo: from the steaming landscape of Rotorua in New Zealand to the vibrant gathering of the first international tattoo convention in Apia, Samoa; from the terraced, lush taro fields of Maui and golden beaches of O'ahu, Hawai'i, to the California coast.

The Shark Callers of Kontu (1982)

In a remote corner of Papua New Guinea, there is an ancient tradition of sharkcalling, wherein a select few possess the magic to trap and kill sharks with their bare hands. The villagers believe that sharks carry the spirits of their ancestors, and sharkcallers spend days preparing for the sacred ritual of calling these meaningful creatures. 

Find more streaming videos in the Ethnographic Videos: Indigenous Voices database. There are lots to choose from!

  Google Maps

Google Maps offers satellite imagery, aerial photography, street maps, 360° interactive panoramic views of streets, real-time traffic conditions, and route planning. For help using this resource, visit Google Maps Help or contact the Library.

  Google Earth

Google Earth lets you explore worldwide satellite imagery and 3D buildings and terrain for hundreds of cities. To get started, visit the Google Earth website and click "Launch Earth" in the top right corner. For help using this resource, visit Google Earth Help or contact the Library.

Looking for photographs? Check the following digital resources:

• 

  Creating Siapo

  Images of making siapo (tapa/kapa) taken in 1967 in American Samoa by Joan Griffis.

   
• 

  Douglas Oliver Bougainville Research Collection

  Most of the images taken 1938-1939 by Oliver in Bougainville.

   
• 

  George Grace Linguistic Research and Slides of Melanesia

  Photos from throughout Melanesia, on a variety of subjects, taken 1955-1956.

   
• 

  Hawaiian & Pacific Images

  Images from 19th and early 20th century works about the Pacific.

   
• 

  Jack Tobin Marshall Islands Anthropology Collection

  Images taken by Tobin from 1950-1985 in the Marshall Islands.

   
• 

  Margo Duggan Collection

  Images of Micronesia and Hawaiʻi taken in 1949-1954 by Duggan.

   
• 

  Nuclear Diaspora: Bikini and Enewetak

  Images taken from 1946-1988 by Mason and Kiste throughout Micronesia, but mostly the Marshall Islands.

   
• 

  Pacific in Wartime

  Images from multiple collections/authors about the Pacific during World War II (1940's).

   
• 

  Rapanui: The Edmunds/Bryan Photograph Collection

  Photographs of Rapa Nui taken in the early 1900s by Henry Percy Edmunds, and William Alanson Bryan Jr.

   
• 

  Steve Thomas Traditional Micronesian Navigation Collection

  Images taken by Thomas in Satawal in the 1980s.

   
• 

  Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection

  Images that document the history of the American period in Micronesia (1947-1988).

   
• 

  Trust Territory Survey Maps

  Scans from a collection of about 1,700 survey maps and surveyors notes (longitude/latitude etc.).