Hula and Mele: Mele (Music)
Here are some websites with more info and resources on mele:
This site has lots of books and curriculum resources on Hawaiian language and culture, including mele and hula. Try searching for "hula" or "mele" on the website or browse books by clicking on the "Nā Puke" (or "Books") tab and clicking on the filter options (e.g. Pae Hoʻomaka, Pae Waena, Pae Holomua, and Kumuʻike) to display the full list of books.
A website featuring a bilingual, community-based approach to presenting living Hawaiian culture and its connections to a rich ancestral past. Explore more than 60 diverse topics— including mele, hula, and Laka —explained by cultural practitioners and community experts from across the pae ‘āina.
This site provides song lyrics and translations for Hawaiian music.
Waihona Mele: A Repository of Mele-Inspired Essays
Collection of essays for specific mele, their translation, description, and use. Essays written by Kihei de Silva and members of Halau Mohala Ilima.
Includes music resources, including The Island Music Source Book which is a collection of over 38,800 Hawaiian-music songs (through 1999), compiled by Brett Ortone.
Over 2,000 songs from the 1920–40s, which span several genres, such as Hapa Haole, Hula Ku'i, Orchestra, Jazz, etc. Includes bibliographic information and image of record/disc labels. The site also includes a few local artist and performer biographies.
The mission of the Hawaiian Music Hall of Fame is to promote, preserve, and perpetuate Hawaiian music and hula. The website includes biographical information, pictures, and other items of interest for Hall of Fame Honorees.