The most frequently-used databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Mainly scholarly journal articles. This EBSCO database contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Covers all subject areas.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Mainly encyclopedias. A large digital collection of reference materials including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, maps and images.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): formally ebrary
ProQuest's Ebook Central is a collection of electronic books covering a wide range of subject areas. All books may be read online or downloaded in chapters or whole books. Consult with a librarian or visit the Ebook Central's help pages for troubleshooting or download help.
MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Includes the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and the AP wires that cover local news
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): 19th Century British Pamphlets
Contains more than 26,000 digitized pamphlets from collections in seven universities in the UK spanning more than one million pages bringing together a compilation of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.
Global Plants This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): JSTOR Global Plants contains more than two million high-resolution type specimens. This database includes partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, paintings, drawings, and photographs
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Aluka - Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Struggles for Freedom is a collection of thousands of objects that relate to liberation movements in six southern African countries. The objects include oral histories, speeches, nationalist publications, fully digitized books, and pamphlets.
Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Sustainability Reference Center is a robust full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability, including environmental stewardship, corporate social responsibility and federal, state and local regulations. It includes full text journals, magazines, books and trade publications, plus expert analyses, benchmarks and best practices for sustainability initiative management.
World Heritage Sites: Africa This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Aluka - World Heritage Sites - Africa
A versatile collection of more than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites. This collection aids researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, geography, history, and literature, as well as those focused on geomatics, historic preservation, urban planning, and visual and spatial technologies.