Skip to Main Content

Reading & Study Strategies

Study Smarter Not Longer

What are higher order thinking skills?

Bloom's Taxonomy is a framework describing six levels of learning. Your instructor designs assignments, projects, and tests to help you practice and demonstrate these levels of learning in your classes. You can use the instructor's course learning objectives to help you focus on what to do when you study. For example, you may have to remember new terminology and then use the terminology to provide an analysis of a problem. The higher levels of the taxonomy represent higher-order thinking skills. Your courses aren't just teaching a subject; they are helping you to develop higher-order thinking skills: create, evaluate, and analyze.

Additional Resources:

Revised Bloom's Taxonomy