SSM 384: Research Resources
Key Library Resources
Journal Evaluation Tools
Recommended Research Guides!
by Ellen Peterson Last Updated May 18, 2020 523 views this year
by Ellen Peterson Last Updated Sep 21, 2020 306 views this year
Researching Local Topics
by Jeffrey Marzluft Last Updated Jan 30, 2020 411 views this year
Google Search Tips
by Ellen Peterson Last Updated Jan 12, 2018 66 views this year
Recommended Library Databases and Collections
Sustainability is an interdisciplinary topic, which means you can find useful ideas, research articles, background information, and data in a variety of places.
It's important to develop a basic idea of what's going on in your field. This includes knowing the vocabulary and academic points of disagreement between scholars. To get this information, you might try reading encyclopedia articles, academic blogs, and current publications. Here are a few examples of library resources that may help you get to know your topic:
- Credo Reference, Science Reference Center, Britannica Online for encyclopedia articles.
- EBSCO's Newspaper Source Plus for newspaper articles. Includes full text of the Honolulu Star Advertiser.
- CQ Researcher and Issues & Controversies provide background information on controversial social and environmental topics.
- New books in the UHMC collection
Sustainable Science-specific databases and collections. The library subscribes to a handful of good databases covering agriculture, natural resources, and sustainability subjects:
- EBSCO's Earth & Environment Database Collection
Includes the GreenFILE database that primarily covers topics on the human impact to the environment.
1970-present. U.S. Department of Agriculture. This database includes records for items added to the National Agriculture Library Collection. it is strong on USDA publications and also includes journal articles and book chapters.
- Science Direct
Science, social science, and humanities research journal articles. Includes tools to analyze article impact and influence.
Authoritative online source for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and analysis of high-performance buildings. On-campus use only.
For business research, consult:
- Business Source Complete
Magazine and journal articles on business, management, economics, and more.
- Small Business Resource Center
Trade publications, magazines, and reports addressing a wide range of small business topics.
For Hawai'i and "local" research, your best bests are:
- Google Scholar
EBSCO's Newspaper Source Plus for newspaper articles. Includes full text of the Honolulu Star Advertiser. The Hawaii Newspapers Research Guide may be helpful.
- JSTOR Journal articles in the humanities. Some coverage of Hawaiʻi historical topics from journals dating back to the late 1800ʻs.
Open access journals and research:
Open scholarly journals that are freely available to anyone online. You can find a listing of these journals in the Directory of Open Access at www.doaj.org. Here are a few related to sustainability topics:
- Ecology and Society: A Journal of Integrative Science for Resilience and Sustainability
Multidisciplinary journal "concerned with the relationship between society and the life-supporting ecosystems on which human wellbeing ultimately depends."
- Electronic Green Journal
"A professional peer-reviewed publication devoted to disseminating information concerning environmental protection, conservation, management of natural resources, and ecologically-balanced regional development."
- Environmental Health Perspectives
"A forum for the discussion of the interrelationships between the environment and human health."
"Journal of environmental, cultural, economic and social sustainability of human beings."
- Sustainability: Science, Practice, & Policy
"A forum for cross-disciplinary discussion of empirical science as well as practice and policy developments related to sustainability."
Finding statistics and data
To find market research data, consult:
data from businesses, government departments, or market research associations. Use the infographics features to communicate your topic visually.
To find country data on energy, food, environment, and other sustainability topics, consult these international sources:
- UNdata includes statistics, estimates, and projections on development, education, energy, environment, food and agriculture, gender, health, human development, and more.
- The WorldBank provides data, charts, and maps on a variety of topics, including development, the environment, energy, health, poverty, and more.