HOST 150: Research Essentials
Library Quick Links
- Ask a LibrarianYou can chat with a librarian during regular business hours, set up an appointment with a librarian or email a question.
- Bookings InstructionsAn overview of the services available at the library as well as the instructions and protocols for reserving them.
- Book Now!A direct link to the Library's services and spaces schedule
- HoursGet the latest information on the library's hours.
Online Searching
Use the Google Search box below to find additional resources. Use search terms that are relevant(ecotourism, sustainable tourism, restaurants, best activities, etc...) along with your destination.
Try a variety of keywords to find different information sources. Some examples are:
- Best Practices
- Protocols
- Hotel Names (i.e. Ritz)
- Covid-19
- Coronavirus
- Alterations
- Updates
- Impact
Article Databases
- Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
- MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Helpful Handouts and Tutorials
Finding a Topic
Finding a topic is one of the most important steps on the research process. Here are a few pointers and hhelp for finding the right one:
- Find a Research Topic (Depaul University)A short guide with tips and a video to help you decide on your topic.
- Using Library Sources to find a topicFrom the University of Alaska Fairbanks, this vide shows you ho to use CQ Researcher and Credo Reference to find potential topics.
Keywords and Search Strategy
- Choosing and Using Keywords TutorialMaui College librarians created this tutorial on choosing and using keywords.
- Identifying Keywords (From Indiana University)A simple one-page handout on discovering and using keywords.
- Search Strategy Worksheet (From Hunter College)A simple worksheet to help you identify relevant keywords as well as put them together to search for information.
- Hunter College video on keywords and search strategyThis 5 1/2 minute video offers a nice introduction to keywords and their power in effective searching.
- Purdue OWL Guide to writing thesis statementsIncludes examples of different thesis styles based on the type of paper you are writing.
- UNC Writing Center handout on Thesis StatementsA helpful guide on thesis statements including a checklist to make sure you have a strong one.
Evaluating Sources
- The CRAAP TestAre your sources crappy or not? Look at your source and ask yourself these questions.
Currency
-- When was the information created?
-- Does your topic require updated information?
Relevance
-- Does the information relate to your paper/project?
-- Is it written at an appropriate level? (not too advanced or elementary)
Authority
-- Is the author qualified to write on this subject?
-- Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?
Accuracy
-- Where does the information come from?
-- Is the information supported by legitimate sources?
Purpose
-- Why was the site created (advertising, share knowledge, entertainment)?
-- Do the authors make their intentions clear?