Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COM 145

A guide to Library resources for students in Communication 145

What is a database?

Thanks to the Library at RMIT, a Public University in Australia.

Databases at UHMC

Databases A - Z is an alphabetical listing of all library subscribed databases including ALL OF THE EBSCO Databases.  You can filter the collection by subject type or by type of database (articles, ebooks, reference shelf, images, etc.).

When to Use A-Z Databases

  • when you want specialized information sources within a discipline or academic field (e.g. select psychology from the drop-down Subject menu).
  • when you know the name of a library database you want to search (eg. Psychology And Behavioral Science Collection)
  • as a starting place to find more in-depth sources of information

 

Best Bet Database for

Most Topics 

 Masterfile Complete Button

MasterFile Complete -- Contains Full-text articles from over 1500 leading magazines and long-form journalism including:

 The Atlantic, Wired, New Yorker, Weekly Standard, New Republic

Finding/Using Keywords

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is linked to the UHMC Library. From this freely accessible, scholarly web search engine --  Click on the three horizontal bars in the upper left, click Settings > Library Links: enter "University of Hawaii Maui College" in the area provided.  This will sync your Google Scholar page to the full text articles available through our paid databases at the library. Articles indicated with "Get Article" are available through UHMC Library.

For more information, consult the UHMC Library Guide to Google Scholar.

 

Websites

Pro/Con Databases (paid)

The following databases offer in-depth, non-biased introductions to many of today's important issues. Additionally, these sources may assist you in discovering a topic:

If you are studying a local topic, be sure to consult the Researching Local Issues LibGuide