Overview of Distance Learning Support

Distance learning and outreach is a combined effort on the part of the UHMC library. Our support goal to distance learning and outreach is to make sure we are educating our UHMC "distance" students on what library materials and services are available to them and engaging with them as much as possible.

UH Center Students should contact the library at their home campus or contact UH Center for research help. 

→ Remote Research Help
Students and faculty are able to chat, text, or call a librarian for immediate assistance during library open hours. Search Help, FAQ,  and library skills DIY pages are available 24/7.

→ Online Teaching and Learning Modules
A collection of online library orientation activities and interactive learning modules have been created with UHMC distant learners in mind. UHMC library-created modules utilize the ADA compliant heading structure. The training videos from Credo are packaged with ADA compliant, downloadable scripts. 

→ Electronic Materials 
The library works to develop a balanced collection of research materials in electronic format for every subject taught through UHMC. The Databases A-Z page organizes library databases alphabetically, by subject, and by type. Supplemental ebooks and streaming media are purchased for online classes. 

→ Additional Library Support for Distance Learning 

• Customized videos, tutorials, and class research guides
• Classroom materials (ebooks and other electronic materials)
• OER & Textbook Cost $0 Efforts 
• Mobile Tools 
• Online Copyright Consultations
• Travel to Outreach Sites 
• Skype & Google Hangouts
• Social Media Engagement

→ Future Support Plans for Distance Learning 

• Embed into "live sessions"
• Integration with Laulima
• Online Course Reserves
• Online "Events"
• Broadcasting and Uploading of Library Events & Sessions 
• Student-Facing DL Page

UHMC Library Resources for Teaching Information Literacy

EXPLORING & USING THE LIBRARY ONLINE (foundational skills)
 

• Library Online Scavenger Hunt
  Introduction to the library website, search systems, and how to contact a librarian for help. Students explore core library databases and search systems and learn strategies and specific techniques for making them work. 
  

SPECIFIC INFORMATION LITERACY SKILLS & CONSTRUCTS

• Library Videos & Tutorials
  UHMC librarian-created videos from the library's YouTube page.  
  
   
• Library DIY
  A self-help, how-to guide with advice, videos, and tutorials. Popular DIY pages include how to search library databases and cite sources. Includes a collection of UHMC library videos and tutorials from the Credo Information Literacy Module collection. 
  
   
• Classroom and Topic Research Guides
  Classroom research guides created for online classes focus on electronic resources and include select online learning modules (Example: ANTH 200). Examples include: Citing sources, researching local topics, writing scholarship essays, using Google Scholar and more. Select Topics Guides from the Research Guides page.