HOST: HOST 280
A guide for those in the Hospitality and Tourism program.
Library Quick Links
- Assignment CalculatorFrom the University of Connecticut - this tool can help you develop a timeline for your project.
- Wireless PassthroughEnables you to log on to WiFi network instantly for up to one year.
Suggested Websites
- Hospitality NetA comprehensive site dedicated to all things happening in the hospitality industry.
- 32 Most Useful Hospitality Websites to Bookmark in 2016A list of websites on everything from increasing reservations to utilizing social media.
Books and eBooks
 |
Physical Books in the UHMC LibraryThe Library collects books related to HOST courses, the Program, and associated learning objectives. We use a system called Voyager to search for books in the library. Search Voyager Here |
 |
Electronic BooksThe Library subscribes to 2 eBook collections that have some HOST material.
Search Ebook CentralSearch EBSCO eBook collection
Access to eBooks is available anytime with valid UH ID. |
CREDO Reference
Credo Reference offers full-text reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) on a variety of topics including many in the hospitality industry.
Search CREDO Reference Here
Article Databases
- Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals including many in the hospitality industry.
- MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand offers videos and segments related to a variety of subjects. There is coverage of issues related to hospitality as a career and an induistry.
Before you start, please be aware of the following:
- From most campus computers, students will be able to view embedded and linked videos without logging in (campus includes all outreach sites).
- Off campus students will have to make a Films on Demand account FIRST. Students need to click the link on the library home page as shown below.
- Shortcut links will not work, students must click the homepage link to login.
- Students login to the UH authentication service, using their UH username and password.
- Once at the Films on Demand website, students need to make a Films on Demand account by following the instructions on the Films on Demand main webpage.
- Students then login to Films on Demand.
- Then students may go back to the embedded video or click the video link to view the video.
Highlights from the Collection(s)
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management by Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2010The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry.
Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and TourismCall Number: ONLINE eBookPublication Date: 2008-04-23Topics covered include travel, tourism, ticketing, hotels and staff, restaurants, kitchens, table settings, service and cooking, along with general business, accounting and personnel terms.
The Tourism Society's Dictionary for the Tourism Industry by ISBN: 1845934490Publication Date: 2008-10-01This dictionary is a handy reference covering everyday terms used within the tourism, travel, leisure and airline sectors.It is a useful introduction for those new to studying or working in tourism and related industries.
The Spirit to Serve: Marriott's WayCall Number: TX911.3.M27 M335 1997Publication Date: 2015-06-04From the founder of Marriott Hotels comes 12 lessons for any business manager.
The New Gold Standard by Call Number: HD57.7 .M525 2008Secrets of guest relations on creating a first class experience from one of the most luxurious hotel brands in the world.
Be Our Guest by Call Number: GV1853.3.F62 W3417 2011Publication Date: 2011-11-08Exceeding expectations rather than simply satisfying them is the cornerstone of the Disney approach to customer service. This updated version of the classic text will help walk you through their approach.
