Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books and eBooks
Physical Books in the UHMC Library
The Library collects books related to HOST courses, the Program, and associated learning objectives. We use a system called Voyager to search for books in the library.
The Library subscribes to 2 eBook collections that have some HOST material.
Ebook Central -- Your best bet with 70,000 full-text eBooks.
EBSCO eBook Collection -- Scholarly, professional, and popular books available in electronic format.
Access to eBooks is available anytime with valid UH ID.
Credo Reference offers full-text reference books (i.e. encyclopedias) on a variety of topics including many in the hospitality industry.
Vocational & Career Collection
This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals including many in the hospitality industry.
Offers the largest collection of popular full-text
magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand offers videos and segments related to a variety of subjects. There is coverage of issues related to hospitality as a career and an induistry.
Before you start, please be aware of the following:
From most campus computers, students will be able to view embedded and linked videos without logging in (campus includes all outreach sites).
Off campus students will have to make a Films on Demand account FIRST . Students need to click the link on the library home page as shown below.
Shortcut links will not work, students must click the homepage link to login.
Students login to the UH authentication service, using their UH username and password.
Once at the Films on Demand website, students need to make a Films on Demand account by following the instructions on the Films on Demand main webpage.
Students then login to Films on Demand.
Then students may go back to the embedded video or click the video link to view the video.
Highlights from the Collection(s)
Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism
Call Number: ONLINE eBook
Publication Date: 2008-04-23
Topics covered include travel, tourism, ticketing, hotels and staff, restaurants, kitchens, table settings, service and cooking, along with general business, accounting and personnel terms.
The Tourism Society's Dictionary for the Tourism Industry by
Call Number: ONLINE eBook
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
This dictionary is a handy reference covering everyday terms used within the tourism, travel, leisure and airline sectors.It is a useful introduction for those new to studying or working in tourism and related industries.
The New Gold Standard by
Call Number: HD57.7 .M525 2008
Secrets of guest relations on creating a first class experience from one of the most luxurious hotel brands in the world.
Video: Hyatt Guest Services
Fun Video: How many Unprofessional Behaviors can you spot?