POLS 110: Home

Aloha and welcome POLS 110 students! As part of your assignments for your class, you're asked to choose a political issue that interests you and then research background and follow developments of that issue in the news. To help you get started, this guide provides links to some of the resources available to you either through our Maui College Library or freely online, including books, articles, news sources and more!

If any questions come up, please don't hesitate to contact me, your friendly Political Science Librarian Liaison (my contact info is listed in the box to the right). Or, you can Ask A Librarian via chat or over the phone during our normal library hours.

Here are some examples of U.S.-based news sources:

National Public Radio (NPR)

A multimedia news organization and radio program producer. NPR is a state-run media organization that produces and distributes news and cultural programming to a network of 900 public radio stations in the United States.

New York Times

An American daily newspaper founded and continuously published in New York City since 1851, by The New York Times Company.

The Wall Street Journal

A business-focused, English-language international newspaper based in New York City. The Journal, along with its Asian and European editions, is published six days a week by Dow Jones & Company, a division of News Corp.

Washington Post

An American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. - because of its location in the capital city of the United States, the newspaper has an emphasis on U.S. national politics. It was founded in 1877.

Typically, books offer a more in-depth study of a topic and so can be very helpful for gathering background info on your chosen issue.  To find print and electronic books available through the Library, click to search the Voyager catalog. If you're interested in other ebooks, you can also click the links below to try searching in ebrary or the EBSCO eBook Collection directly.

Voyager

Find books and media available in the campus library or online. IMPORTANT: If you find a book you're interested in and you're at one of our distance ed sites (Molokai, Hāna, Lahaina, or Lānaʻi) or it looks like our Library does not have a copy, you may request that the book be mailed to your site or our Maui College Library for you (allow 5-7 business days) - click here for instructions on placing a request online or call/visit the Library Reference Desk for assistance.

ebrary

Access to more than 70,000 academic, full-text ebooks. View online or download into an eBook reader. TIP: When viewing a book, use the box labeled "Search Within Book"  to search books for specific topics or keywords.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Search and view the full text of eBooks included in the eBook Public Library Collection.

Here are a few databases I'd recommend starting with:

Background Info on Current Events: The following databases offer in-depth coverage of many of today's current issues:

• CQ Researcher
• Issues & Controversies

Newspaper & Magazine Articles: Search these magazine or newspaper databases for recent articles on your chosen political issue:

• TOPICsearch
• Hawai'i Newspapers (ProQuest)
• World News Digest

Other Article Databases Covering Current and Ongoing Issues:

• EBSCOhost

Select "General/News Databases" or the subject most relevant to your topic (e.g. "Earth/Environment Databases") to start searching.

• Issues & Controversies in American History