Skip to main content

Nursing Research Resources: Finding Evidence

A guide for researching Nursing Information

Help with Searching

Searching CINAHL with PICO

The following series of videos were produced by the University of British Columbia. They offer a offers a step by step approach to complex searching in CINAHL.

Using PICO to Develop Keywords

Searching CINAHL using MeSH

PUBMED and MEDLINE

 

PubMed logo

PUBMED

This database includes the articles from MEDLINE in addition to in-process citations, open journal articles, and some additional journal titles.  MEDLINE is the largest subsection of PubMed.  PUBMED Central is an additional product serving as an archive for free journal articles.  

 

medline logo

MEDLINE

MEDLINE is the official journal citation database of the National Library of Medicine with references going back to 1946.  Articles are submitted to a technical board who approves their publication in the database according to scientific and medical factors.  


For more information, consult the NLM page describing the products.  

Best Bet Databases

 

Logo for CINAHL

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text is a nursing database produced by EBSCO with access to thousands of articles, case studies, and academic journals.  You can search using the MeSH terms.  Much of the information is "Unfiltered" but there are some systemic reviews as well as professional guidelines.

 

Logo for Science Direct

Science Direct

Published by Elsevier, one of the world's leading scientific publishers - Science Direct offers access to nearly 2,200 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and over 25,000 e-books.The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities.

 

Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition logo

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

A general nursing database which includes full text of about 300 journals.  This is the least comprehensive of our databases, but offers a good starting point to find information/evidence from the bottom of the evidence pyramid.

Finding articles when you have the citation.

The library has a tool that searches all the library's databases for journal and magazine titles.  If you have an article citation or simply want to see if the library subscribes to a particular title, enter it into the tool below and expand on your results to go the particular databases that has the title:

Journal Search

Other Free Professional Databases

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is linked to the UHMC Library. If Google Scholar finds an article which is available through the Library's subscription databases, you will be able to have access to it.  To do this you must do one of two things:

  1. Use the Google Scholar link from the Library's A-Z List of Databases.
  2. Manually link your Google Scholar account to the UHMC library. Click on the three horizontal bars in the upper left, click Settings > Library Links: enter "University of Hawaii Maui College" in the area provided. 

 Articles indicated with "Get Article" are available through UHMC Library.

For more information, consult the UHMC Library Guide to Google Scholar.