Skip to main content

Dental Health Resources: Finding Evidence

A guide for Dental Health students emphasizing their research and EBDM.

Help with Searching

Best Bet Databases

Logo for CINAHL

EBSCOHost Image

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text is a nursing database with access to thousands of articles, case studies, and academic journals.  Much of the information is "Unfiltered" but there are some systematic reviews as well as professional guidelines.

 

Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition logo

EBSCOHost Image

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

A general nursing database which includes full text of about 300 journals.  This is the least comprehensive of our databases, but offers a good starting point to find information/evidence from the bottom of the evidence pyramid.

 

Logo for Science Direct

Science Direct

Published by Elsevier, one of the world's leading scientific publishers - Science Direct offers access to nearly 2,200 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.  Most are original research.  and over 25,000 e-books.The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities.

Indexes

Journal indexes behave much like the index in the back of books.  They can tell you where to look, but you will not necessarily have access to the full text of the article.  If you see an article that you want, please use the e-Journal finder or  contact a librarian for more assistance.  These two indexes have similar content so you may not need to search both.

 

medline logo

MEDLINE

Contains the full text of SOME of the  journals indexed in Medline - the National Library of Medicine's official repository of medical and allied health journals.  This is a good place to find many of the reports and studies cited in the systematic reviews.  The search will default to "Full-Text" so you will have access to all of the articles found in your search.  In addition, this is a great place to find your MESH terms. (Use the search function at the top of the page).

ADA Logo

ADA Center for Evidence Based Dentistry

A free comprehensive database specializing in evidence based research in dentistry. Contains an index of evidence based dental research as well as a browsable topic index.  Evidence contained stops at 2016.  After 2016, all evidence can be found in the epistemonikos Index -- a comprehensive healthcare index specializing in Evidence-based medicine and practice. 

Finding articles when you have the citation.

The library has a tool that searches all the library's databases for journal and magazine titles.  If you have an article citation or simply want to see if the library subscribes to a particular title, enter it into the tool below and expand on your results to go the particular databases that has the title:

e-Journal Finder

Other Free Professional Databases