PACS 108: Start Here
Aloha!
This guide was created for students in Dr. Kirkendall's PACS 108 course. It includes links to readings and other resources useful to research on Oceania.
Photo: Sapou Village (image provided by Dr. K)
Recommended/Supplementary Readings
Chapter List: (click on a chapter to start reading - UH login required)
Articles:
Hauofa, E. (1993). Our Sea of Islands. The Contemporary Pacific, 6(1), 148-161.
Meyer, M. A. (2001). Our own liberation: reflections on Hawaiian epistemology. The Contemporary Pacific, 13(1), 124-148.
Teaiwa, T. (2005) The classroom as Metaphorical Canoe: Cooperative Learning in Pacific Studies.
-
Free download available from WINHEC: International Journal of Indigenous Education Scholarship website
Background Information
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Mainly encyclopedias. A large digital collection of reference materials including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, maps and images.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. Visit the eHRAF help site at Yale University for video tutorials and general help and guidance for teaching with eHRAF.
To view a list of cultures available for Australia, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia - 1) Open the eHRAF World Cultures database, 2) choose the "Browse CULTURES" tab, 3) then choose "by Region" and 4) click "Oceania" .
CIA World Factbook
Contains information for every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world. Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, transportation, communication, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The World Bank: Pacific Islands
Provides economic information for the Pacific Islands as a whole and by country.
Supplemental Readings
Native Cultures of the Pacific Islands by Call Number: Hawaiian GN662 .O45 1989
Videos
Made in Taiwan: Genes, Culture, and the Peopling of the South PacificPublication Date: 2006
Want to find other videos? Search in Primo or in the following databases directly:
- Ethnographic Videos: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new windowResource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Contains over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. From Alexander Street Press.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
FOD is a comprehensive collection of educational videos and films covering academic and career and technical educations subject areas. Available streaming, 24/7.
Need Help?
Contact the Library by
Phone → (808) 984-3715
Text/SMS → (808) 518-4080
Email → help@maui-hawaii.libanswers.com
Ethnographies
Nest in the Wind by Publication Date: 2005You can get this book from other UH libraries for free - click title to request it (takes 4-7 days to get to Maui).
Lamotrek Atoll and Inter-Island Socioeconomic Ties by Publication Date: 1989
Samoan Village by Call Number: Ethnography Collection - DU819.F58 H65 1974
