Skip to main content

BIO 151: Course Research Guide

essential library and open web resources for your research projects

Cool New Stuff!

Browse the full collection of magazine titles

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference is a large collection of reference books available online. Reference books such as encyclopedias are a good place to gather background information on your topic to start your research. There are many searchable biology and medical encyclopedias in Credo Reference that may help you with your class research, such as the Encyclopedia of the Human Genome. 
 

Accessing Articles From Library Databases


One of your best bets for accessing science and/or medical articles is to search the Life Science Collection of databases through EBSCOhost. Here are instructions for accessing this collection of databases using this course research guide:

1) Click on this EBSCOhost link to access the EBSCOhost Databases by Subject page.

2) From this page, click on the Life Sciences link.



3) You will be taken to the place on the databases page with that link exists. Click on the Life Sciences link again. 
 



4) From here you will be taken to the basic EBSCO search box that searches the collection of databases contained in the Life Sciences collection. Type in your keywords and select Search. For your genetics condition assignment, you may want to use the keywords genetic disease and then add the keywords from your selected condition (in this example, multiple sclerosis). 



5) If your search retrieves a lot of search results, use the limiters on the left to refine your search results. 

 



6) It is recommended that you save or email the articles you want to use in your research. 


Below is a list of additional library databases not included in the EBSCO collection. 

Free Science Articles and News Online

Credible Open Web Resources

Genetics.org
From the Genetics Society of America.

NCBI
‚ÄčThe National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

GenBank
GenBank is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.

WebMD
A large collection of health and medical news and information.

PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Mayo Clinic Research
See how discoveries are translated into therapies and find clinical trials.

GeneEd at the NIH GeneEd Web
Developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Human Genome Institute (NHGRI).

Genetics and Molecular Medicine
From the American Medical Association.

Genetics Home Reference
From the US National Institute of Health, National Library of Medicine.

National Human Genome Research Institute
This link will take you directly to genome.gov list of "Specific Genetic Disorders," which offers invaluable information on numerous human disorders.

Public Health Genomics from the CDC
From the US Center For Disease Control.