ACC 295: Course Research Guide
Recommended Library Databases
If you need just few articles on a topic for a research paper, you might use the library's core business-specific database:
Business Source Complete.
This enhanced business searching interface of EBSCO's Business Source Complete provides easy access to full text company financial data, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
For local or Hawaii-related topics you might use:
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. Newspaper Source Plus also features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts. Good for current events. Links to full-text Honolulu Star-Advertiser articles for local research.
Google Scholar with linking to library-subscribed full-text content (look for the links that say Get Article). From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Visit the UHMC Library's Google Scholar research guide to learn more.
- International Directories of Company Histories
Comprehensive histories of 8,500 of the world's largest and most influential companies. Histories include company development and background; merger and acquisition history; impact of sales and marketing campaigns; effectiveness of executive leadership; expansions and strategies; labor/management actions; stock exchanges, ticker symbols, and industries; and principal subsidiaries, divisions, operating units, and competitors. Information is sourced from publicly accessible data as well as materials supplied by the companies themselves.
An online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions around the world.
- JSTOR: Arts & Sciences 1
A scholarly journal and primary sources collection covering a wide variety of subject areas. Many accounting topics are covered such as: accounting scandals, Business, Economics, Finance, Law, Management & Organizational Behavior, Marketing & Advertising, and Statistics.