HIST 281: Start Here
Course Description: Develops understanding of the progress of American culture up to the Civil War, an insight into America's heritage, and a sensitivity to its ideals and realities.
Start Here
Welcome to your HIST 281 Research Guide!
Here you'll find resources and helpful tips to assist you in this course. Each of these were selected by librarians and your instructor as the most commonly referenced and/or used resources for HIST 281. These are just a sample of the resources available to you through UHMC Library, contact us for help finding other resources or for any questions that may arise during your research journey.
Looking for videos and tutorials? Check out:
- Library DIY - A "how to" guide for research that walks you through a 4 step process.
- Search Help - Tips for searching for books, ebooks, magazines, journals, and more.
Databases
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. - Arts & Sciences I. JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. It also features numerous PRIMARY sources such as pamphlets, museum items, documents, series and more. - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowTo access HathiTrust full-text, click on the yellow Log In button to the right of the screen and search partner institution for University of Hawaii. You can then log in with your UH username and password.
HathiTrust makes available the digitized collections of some of the nation’s largest research libraries. Included in this collection are thousands of books, articles, reference works, and more about Hawaiʻi and Polynesia.
Websites
- Library of CongressU.S. History Primary Source Timeline: Colonial Settlement, 1600s - 1763
- Chronicling AmericaDigitized U.S. newspapers from 1770-1963.
- Library of CongressPrimary Documents in American History: Civil War and Reconstruction
- Smithsonian: National Museum of American History (Behring Center)Legal Documents Concerning Slavery Collection