Scholarship Essays: Start Here
How to Use This Guide
This guide contains tips for writing college admission and scholarship essays. There are overarching writing strategies that work well for both types of essays. These resources contain information for first-time applicants, college students, and transfer students.
Recommended Research Guides
Scholarship Writing Tips from the Web
Recommended Electronic Resources
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center - one of the top career resources available through your library. Be prepared to login with your UH username and password to access the following links:
- How to Write an Effective Scholarship Essay
- Financial Aid - Advice & Planning - a general introduction to financial aid, financial planning for college, and scholarships ins and outs
Great blog post from Maryville University: How to Write a Scholarship Essay (Open Source)
Featured Library Books - Applying for College
Getting in by Standing out by Call Number: General Collection: LB2351.2 .B37 2015ISBN: 1599325594Publication Date: 2015Invest in yourself so the top colleges will want to invest in you · Learn the study habits and tests that show you off the best · Brag artfully to remain likeable · Structure exceptional and meaningful essays explaining "why you do what you do" - because the WHY is everything · Uncover generous merit-based financial awards.
How to Prepare a Standout College Application by Call Number: General Collection: LB2351.52.U6 C53 2013ISBN: 1118414403Publication Date: 2013Demystifying the process of completing a college application Written by two former admissions officers at top universities and current admissions coaches, this book is a must-have for preparing a winning college application.
Featured Library Books - Applying for Scholarships
1001 Ways to Pay for College by Call Number: LB2337.4 .T357 2011ISBN: 9781932662979Publication Date: 2011This book provides detailed explanations with real-life examples and practical resources, the featured topics include finding and winning scholarships, requesting a reassessment from colleges for more financial aid, maximizing assistance from state and federal governments, taking advantage of educational tax breaks, and benefiting from government-subsidized student loans.
The Scholarship System: 6 simple steps on how to win college scholarships and secure financial aid by Call Number: LB2338 .P36 2014ISBN: 9781502787743Publication Date: 2014The Scholarship System gives you a guide to make the scholarship process as easy and painless as possible regardless of your age, GPA, financial situation, or family background.
How to Write a Winning Scholarship Essay by Call Number: LB2338 .T363 2016ISBN: 9781617600982Publication Date: 2016Examining the two basic components of scholarship competition--essays and interviews--this vital guidebook offers practical advice and real-life examples to guide students through the entire application process.
More Related Books of Possible Interest
Scholarships 101 by Call Number: LB2338 -- .S82 2008ebISBN: 9780814412916Publication Date: 2008Filled with inspiring advice from successful students and scholarship providers, Scholarships 101 shows aspiring college students how to: apply for those scholarships that are the best match for their profile and skills * create a scholarship application that will stand apart from the rest and impress the judges * find the buried treasure of scholarships that aren't necessarily available on common websites * build a team of supporters in their scholarship quest.
The Ultimate Scholarship Book, 2022 by ISBN: 1617601640Publication Date: 2021Information on 1.5 million scholarships is easily accessible in this revised directory that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more. With scholarships for high school, college, graduate, and adult students, this guide also includes tips on how to conduct the most effective search, how to write a winning application, and how to avoid scams.
The Scholarship and Financial Aid Solution by Call Number: LB2338 .L57 2015ISBN: 1601389507Publication Date: 2015A guide for students, parents, and school personnel to assist in finding and obtaining scholarships. Even if you do not have above-average grades or participate in lots of extracurricular activities, you can find money to go to college.
Achieve the College DreamISBN: 9781475827361Publication Date: 2016This book is the definitive resource to help high-achieving, low-income students access the best possible college. In the book, the author guides students through the college application and selection processes, as well as the steps to obtain enough financial aid.
Scholarship Handbook 2017 by Call Number: LB2338 .S36 2016ISBN: 9781457307768Publication Date: 2016The Scholarship Handbook 2017 provides the most complete and authoritative facts about more than 1.7 million awards, including scholarship, internship and loan programs offered by foundations, charitable organizations, and state and federal government agencies. Every entry is verified by the College Board to be legitimate, up-to-date, accurate, and portable to more than one college.
Admission Matters by ISBN: 9781119329893Publication Date: 2017Make sense of college admissions and prepare a successful application. From building a college list, to understanding standardized tests, to obtaining financial aid, to crafting personal statements, to making a final decision, this book guides you every step of the way. Questionnaires, interactive forms, checklists, and other tools help you stay focused and organized throughout the process.
How to Go to College on a Shoe String by ISBN: 9781620231180Publication Date: 2016Armed with the information in this book you will be privy to the more than 2,200 programs that offer scholarships, internships, or loans to more than 1.7 million students each year. In addition to scholarships and grants you will learn hundreds of innovative ways to slash your college cost including: calculating your college budget, Ways to Reduce your college budget, Make use of payment alternatives, National and community service, and more.
On-Campus Resources
Learn more about Financial Aid options at UH Maui College
Financial Aid Office
Did you know we have walk-in hours at our UHMC Financial Aid Office?
Walk-In Hours: Mon-Fri, 8:00am - 4:30pm
Location: Ho'okipa Building
Email: mauifa@hawaii.edu
Call: 808-984-3277
Fax: 808-984-3562
UHMC Educational Opportunity Center (EOC)
Did you know we have people on campus to help you with applying for scholarships?
Web: maui.hawaii.edu/eoc
Call: 808.984.3286
Email: eoc@hawaii.edu
Library Quick Links
- Hours and UpdatesGet the latest information on the library's hours.
- Ask a LibrarianYou can chat with a librarian during regular business hours, set up an appointment with a librarian or email a question.