HOST 101
A guide to help students with their research project in HOST 101
Helpful Websites
- U.S. State Department - International Travel InformationInformation for United States citizens travelling abroad. information includes: Travel Advisories, Visa Requirements, Health Information, etc... for United States Citizens traveling abroad.
- Lonely PlanetProducers of famous guides that take you off the beaten track. This site helps users plan the perfect trip.
- Frommer's GuidesAn online portal to travel destinations from Frommer's - one of the original travel guide publishers. Contains information on a variety of destinations.
- Travel and LeisureTravel and Leisure is a magazine dedicated to travel. Use the search box and your destination to get a list of recommended itineraries/ things to do.
- YelpSocial media driven platform for ratings on everything from restaurnts to activities.
- Trip AdvisorPromises unbiased traveler reviews on Hotels, Restaurants, and activities around the world.
- What is eco-tourism?An article from USA Today which has a lot of links to follow around on the benefits and drawbacks to eco-tourism.
Use the Google Search box below to find additional resources. Use search terms that are relevant(ecotourism, sustainable tourism, restaurants, best activities, etc...) along with your destination.
Ecotourism
Ecotourism by Ecotourism focuses on an array of economic, social and ecological inconsistencies that continue to plague ecotourism in theory and practice, and examines the sector in reference to other related forms of tourism, impacts, conservation, sustainability, education and interpretation, policy and governance, and the ethical imperative of ecotourism as these apply to the world's greenest form of tourism.
The Encyclopedia of Ecotourism by A comprhensive look at the ecotourism industry including specific locales, geographies, and impacts. A bit dated but a very valuable resource.
- Green Key GlobalGreen Key Global recognizes members of the hospitality industry for sustainability practices and programs. According to their website, "The Green Key ecolabel is a standard of excellence in the field of environmental responsibility and sustainable operation within the tourism industry."
- The International EcoTourism SocietyThe largest organization studying and analyzing ecotourism in the world.
- What is eco-tourism?An article from USA Today which has a lot of links to follow around on the benefits and drawbacks to eco-tourism.
- What is the meaning of Sustainable Tourism?A nice definition of the concept of sustainable tourism
Article Databases
- Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
- EBSCO Ebooks - Public Library Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection of electronic books that features fiction and nonfiction titles for adults and juveniles as well as a wide range of subjects and topics to meet research and recreational needs. Read online or download using the free Adobe Digital Editions app.
- MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand offers videos and segments related to a variety of subjects. There is coverage of issues related to hospitality as a career and an induistry.
Before you start, please be aware of the following:
- From most campus computers, students will be able to view embedded and linked videos without logging in (campus includes all outreach sites).
- Off campus students will have to make a Films on Demand account FIRST. Students need to click the link on the library home page as shown below.
- Shortcut links will not work, students must click the homepage link to login.
- Students login to the UH authentication service, using their UH username and password.
- Once at the Films on Demand website, students need to make a Films on Demand account by following the instructions on the Films on Demand main webpage.
- Students then login to Films on Demand.
- Then students may go back to the embedded video or click the video link to view the video.
Primo OneSearch
The library has a new search system that will search all the library holdings (books, films, and articles) at one time. Be aware that you will get a lot of results.
PRIMO OneSearch
Here is a helpful video on using OneSearch: